Chinese Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
TASTY!!! Great flavors, little bit sweet, salty, and a touch of ginger. Marinated babybacks for 2 hours. Wrapped each slab in foil, allowing enough space for steaming and air circulation. 375 degrees for one hour, 20 minutes. After, placed on grill for 5 minutes per side and basted with extra sauce. The grilling allows some good caramelization of the sauce. You could also broil and flip the slabs similarly after removing from the foil. Great with rice and sauted chinese veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
My asian boyfriend said these were pretty darn close to perfect! I put them in a crockpot for ~4 hours and the meat was falling off the bone. If you want to do the crockpot method, I recommend to add more sauce, to cover the meat completely, but make sure to leave some extra room for the juices from the meat to fill the rest of the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
it was o.k. but it was missing something. The sauce had a weird taste to it. Maybe if I add some sugar. I'll have to play with the recipe. Thank you though for submitting it. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
These ribs were GREAT! Easy to make and all my guests loved them. I made them ahead of time in the oven and when it was time for dinner I put them on the grill for 5 minutes to heat them up and brown them. I'll definetely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
i tried this last weekend and they were a HUGE hit! I'm making 40 lbs. of it this weekend for a huge BBQ party. I substituted the Sake for Tequila and it still came out AMAZING! Absolutely love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faithxin_Cha0s

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I thought this was okay. I found the Cantonese Pork recipe on this site to have a more authentic taste than this. Also, cooking with sake isn't very Chinese, I would use Chinese rice wine (different than rice wine vinegar) instead which you can find at any Asian grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These ribs had a really good taste to them. I followed the recipe exactly. It was a big hit with my kids, 7,4,and 2. My husband liked them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealCookingDiva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I used to live in LA where I could get GREAT chinese food. I recently moved to Denmark where the Asian food is awful AND I'm pregnant. This recipe was a lifesaver! I have been craving good Chinese food for weeks. Unfortunately no five-spice in DK, but they were excellent anyway. A little fresh ginger is a nice addition if you have it on hand. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
These were great! I used country style ribs and instead of marinating them, I just dumped the sauce over the ribs in my crockpot and cooked them all day. My husband raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Wow... Unbelievably good. I marinated the ribs overnight (I made 'em with ground ginger as that's what I had on hand), and liberally basted the ribs every ten minutes. I definitely recommend broiling them - they crisp up beautifully. The meat was falling off the bone. Phenomenal. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States