Chinese Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Awesome recipe. I was looking for boneless sparerib recipe like I used to get in NY and this was it. I used all the ingredients except the sake.Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Awesome recipe! This turned out beautifully! Used the same sauce minus ketchup for a beef stirfry and that rocked as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Great flavour in this recipe. The sweetness of the hoisin. ketchup and honey, and the tartness of the rice vinegar and lemon give great balance. I tripled the sauce proportions and ended up cooking the ribs in the slow cooker for tender, tasty ribs. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I made two changes: I did not have any sake (I just used more rice vinegar) and instead of pork I used Beef Flanked ribs on the broiler pan. These were great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
I followed the ingredient list exactly but used boneless pork pieces rather than spare ribs, and I put the whole lot into the slowcooker and cooked on low for 5 hours. It came out delicious, exactly the flavour I was looking for, with plenty of sauce to go with the rice and veges I served it with. My 3 and 5 year old kids loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I made a few ingredient changes. I used powdered ginger and garlic. Omitted 5 spice powder(had none on hand) added 1 teaspoon of oyster sauce. Used white wine instead of sake (did have any of that in the house either). cook for 2 hours at 300 degrees. I reserved some of the marinade and heated in the saucepan and poured it over the ribs for the last 10 minutes of cooking. Put the oven on broil to brown or throw on the grill
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEOTONE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Island Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
These were good we didn't have the grill so we just cooked them in the oven with a flat pan on bottom.... It worked!!! But this was so delicious very tender and just good with some other chinese fixings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eyecandy88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious! My spare ribs were actually chopped up so I only had to take 3/4 of the amount of time to bake it. But the marinade was perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fong Chun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Wow! This comes really close to the stuff you get at a Chinese restaurant. I scaled this up to 10 for 5 lbs. of ribs. I didn't have sake so I used white wine and 1 tsp. of powdered ginger. I boiled the ribs for about 20 minutes first, then marinated them in some of the marinade all day, then put them on the grill basting them a bit. I then finished them in the slow cooker with the rest of the sauce for a couple of hours to get them nice and tender. If you want that deep red color, add a couple drops of red food coloring to the marinade. This stuff is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was good, but it was honestly much too sweet for my taste. I think the next time, I'll omit the honey and add more vinegar for more of a tangy flavor. I really miss the sweet and sour spare ribs we used to eat in Hawaii. I also cooked this in the slow cooker on low for about 4 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Purdie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States