Chinese Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
These ribs were so delicious and much better than take out. I broiled them but I think the grill would make them spectacular. I also used fresh lemon juice and grated the lemon peel and added it to the marinade for an extra kick. I was surprised how tender and juicy the broiled ribs were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Knapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This one's a keeper* Thanks for the great recipe! I made it with fried rice and pork egg rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy
Home Town: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eriko
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
these were great! i boiled them before marinating as some had mentioned, but i'm going to try without next time. i also didn't have chinese five spice on hand like i thought, so next time i'll add that for sure. i used mirin instead of sake since i didn't have sake either. i cooked them in the oven for about an hour and finished them under the broiler. mine were bone in pork ribs that i cut before putting them on the rack. my kids and husband loved them. i served with japanese white rice and red cabbage with japanese dressing. will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Made this exactly as written; marinaded for six hours and baked in the oven. The hoisin sauce dominated the marinade too much for our taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I substituted ketchup for HP sauce. I marinated it for 12 hours in the refrigerator and slow cooked it in my slow cooker on high for 5 hours. It tasted amazing though a little on the sweet side. Next time, I will try adding one more lemon and a little more white wine vinegar. Thank you for the easy and lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These didn't work out for me. They were dry and tough. It may have been that there wasn't enough meat on the bones of the spareribs that I chose. Maybe I should have cooked them less, but spareribs always have to be cooked long in order to have them fall off the bone, so I didn't want to do that. The flavor was pretty tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My husband & daughter were amazed at how authentic these spareribs tasted. They both thought we were eating spareribs from our favorite Chinese restaurant! I followed "Betty's" recipe substitutions/baking methods & could not have been more pleased. Home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
WOW!! These tasted exactly like the chinese ribs at my favorite restaurant. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Snoopy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States