Chinese Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Thought it was ok, but even after marinating and being sure to use fresh garlic and ginger in the sauce my ribs did not seem very flavourful. Very mellow flavour. Perhaps this was how they were supposed to be?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
these were really good,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
These ribs were so delicious and much better than take out. I broiled them but I think the grill would make them spectacular. I also used fresh lemon juice and grated the lemon peel and added it to the marinade for an extra kick. I was surprised how tender and juicy the broiled ribs were.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Knapp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This one's a keeper* Thanks for the great recipe! I made it with fried rice and pork egg rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy
Home Town: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eriko
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
these were great! i boiled them before marinating as some had mentioned, but i'm going to try without next time. i also didn't have chinese five spice on hand like i thought, so next time i'll add that for sure. i used mirin instead of sake since i didn't have sake either. i cooked them in the oven for about an hour and finished them under the broiler. mine were bone in pork ribs that i cut before putting them on the rack. my kids and husband loved them. i served with japanese white rice and red cabbage with japanese dressing. will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Made this exactly as written; marinaded for six hours and baked in the oven. The hoisin sauce dominated the marinade too much for our taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I substituted ketchup for HP sauce. I marinated it for 12 hours in the refrigerator and slow cooked it in my slow cooker on high for 5 hours. It tasted amazing though a little on the sweet side. Next time, I will try adding one more lemon and a little more white wine vinegar. Thank you for the easy and lovely recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
These didn't work out for me. They were dry and tough. It may have been that there wasn't enough meat on the bones of the spareribs that I chose. Maybe I should have cooked them less, but spareribs always have to be cooked long in order to have them fall off the bone, so I didn't want to do that. The flavor was pretty tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My husband & daughter were amazed at how authentic these spareribs tasted. They both thought we were eating spareribs from our favorite Chinese restaurant! I followed "Betty's" recipe substitutions/baking methods & could not have been more pleased. Home run!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States