Chinese Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
These looked great but dried out when left on "hold" for guests. I think I expected them to have a sweeter flavor. Love the cooing technique will tweak the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I had a huge package of ribs so I tried two different recipes. This was my favorite of the two. I really enjoyed the taste of the hoisin coming through in this sauce. I did change the cooking method. I baked the ribs in the oven for an hour and then finished on the grill. Served these with baked beans and garlic cheese bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
These were delicious. I didn't have any sake but they were still amazing. I plan on making them again very soon. I added a little duck sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I don't know why, but these tasted terrible. The mainade made them bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I doubled the sauce recipe but left out the sake. Used 3 lbs. of country ribs. Marinated for 3 hours. Cooked them very slowly w/o the water. They were amazing. My hubby asked me to make them again, which I'm doing today. They are juicy and flavorful; that fantastic blend of spices works perfectly. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Not to my liking at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I love this recipe! I do bake them longer than recommended, they come out perfect. Must use the five spice powder or star anise to get the true Chinese rib recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia G
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
This was great! Great for Father's Day. I took advice from comments and added Hickory Liquid Smoke and Sesame Oil. I also couldn't find sake in time, and a local store owner loaned me some Korean liqueur that is similar, and it worked fine. I made 2 racks of baby back port ribs and 4x the recipe, but had to go back and make another batch of marinade to baste the ribs. I also cooked the ribs for 1.5 hours and they came perfectly done. I would make this again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
The sauce is great, but a word of warning here: follow the recipe as given. I tried using boneless spareribs and a crockpot (the crockpot per other suggestions I had read; the boneless pork spareribs were, well, a boneheaded idea on my part) and it's just not the same, comes out dry and not very sauce-y. Bone-in only and use the oven method as prescribed. Definitely going to try this again the right way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BP3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
The marinade is very good. Authentic-tasting. It's true that the Chinese would use rice wine and not sake, which is a Japanese alcoholic drink. The type of alcohol doesn't make a huge difference. I even used ShockTop beer that has an orange-citrusy flavor. Nice. I make a large batch of this sauce and reduce it to thicken for basting and then serving with the rice. I used boneless spareribs that were thick so the cooking time was a lot longer. Finishing under the broiler really makes a nice sticky, toasty glaze so don't skip that step!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States