Chinese Spareribs Recipe - Allrecipes.com
Chinese Spareribs Recipe
  • READY IN 45 mins

Chinese Spareribs

Recipe by  

"After searching the internet for a good Chinese Spareribs recipe and not finding any that caught my eye, I decided to make my own. This recipe is pretty simple, and yields tender, juicy, tangy ribs. In Japan, I cooked this in the fish broiler, but it should be fine on the grill or in the oven."

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 2 servings Change Servings
ADVERTISEMENT
  • PREP

    5 mins
  • COOK

    40 mins
  • READY IN

    45 mins

Directions

  1. In a shallow glass dish, mix together the hoisin sauce, ketchup, honey, soy sauce, sake, rice vinegar, lemon juice, ginger, garlic and five-spice powder. Place the ribs in the dish, and turn to coat. Cover and marinate in the refrigerator for 2 hours, or as long as overnight.
  2. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C). Fill a broiler tray with enough water to cover the bottom. Place the grate or rack over the tray. Arrange the ribs on the grate.
  3. Place the broiler rack in the center of the oven. Cook for 40 minutes, turning and brushing with the marinade every 10 minutes. Let the marinade cook on for the final 10 minutes to make a glaze. Finish under the broiler if desired. Discard any remaining marinade.
Kitchen-Friendly View
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Most Helpful Positive Review
May 08, 2005

Used this recipe for beef short ribs in my Slow-Cooker and we both thought they were delicious! I'm a new fan of hoisin sauce! Subbed tequila (sorry) for the sake cuz I didn't have any, and used red wine vinegar instead of the rice vinegar. Reduced the spices because of my husband, just a dash of 5-spice pdr and 1/4 tsp powdered ginger. Skimmed the fat off the sauce and served it with rice and salad. Next time, will make coconut rice and bok choy salad to go with it. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!

 
Most Helpful Critical Review
Jan 27, 2012

These didn't work out for me. They were dry and tough. It may have been that there wasn't enough meat on the bones of the spareribs that I chose. Maybe I should have cooked them less, but spareribs always have to be cooked long in order to have them fall off the bone, so I didn't want to do that. The flavor was pretty tasty though.

 
Feb 28, 2007

Wonderful recipe. I parboiled the ribs first and them marinated them overnight. I skipped the water in the pan part. Lined a pan with foil and cooked them at 325 for about an hour and half, basting every 1/2 hour. They were wonderful, fell of the bone. This recipe is a keeper.

 
May 17, 2010

Wow! This comes really close to the stuff you get at a Chinese restaurant. I scaled this up to 10 for 5 lbs. of ribs. I didn't have sake so I used white wine and 1 tsp. of powdered ginger. I boiled the ribs for about 20 minutes first, then marinated them in some of the marinade all day, then put them on the grill basting them a bit. I then finished them in the slow cooker with the rest of the sauce for a couple of hours to get them nice and tender. If you want that deep red color, add a couple drops of red food coloring to the marinade. This stuff is awesome!

 
Feb 19, 2007

After 40 years of cooking, I rarely (if ever) follow a recipe exactly. I did follow this one, with two tiny additions -- I added a small amount of sesame oil because I like the flavour, and a few drops of hickory liquid smoke. I used baby back ribs, marinated them for about 4 hours, and cooked them about twice as long as called for. This turned out fantastically! The flavour was EXACTLY what I was looking for. I served it to raves from picky eaters. Next time, I'll probably make this the day ahead, and marinate overnight to really soak the marinade into the ribs. Thanks so much for this great recipe!

 
Oct 13, 2007

this has become a favorite way of mine to do country ribs in the crockpot....I turn it on for 6 hours and when I come back they are just falling apart...I have also used the meat inside of pie crust to make hot pockets for lunch....it is wonderful

 
Sep 12, 2005

Even without the five spice powder (didn't have any on hand) these ribs were amazing. I absolutely love cooking with hoisin sauce so I was very excited to find this recipe. I always simmer my ribs first and then marinate. They were tender and delicious! Thanks so much!

 
Apr 22, 2007

Big hit at dinner party! I doubled recipe for 8 pork chops and doubled again for 16 chicken thighs. Cooked 30 minutes covered and then 30 minutes uncovered. Boiled and reduced leftover marinade and basted during last 30 minutes. Fantastic and easy!

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 504 kcal
  • 25%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 23 g
  • 7%
  • Cholesterol
  • 121 mg
  • 40%
  • Fat
  • 31 g
  • 48%
  • Fiber
  • 0.8 g
  • 3%
  • Protein
  • 30.4 g
  • 61%
  • Sodium
  • 1015 mg
  • 41%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More

About the Cook

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States