Chinese Shrimp and Tofu Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I followed this recipe as is but next time I will make a change. I loved the taste of the shrimp which was stir-fried with garlic and ginger but the tofu was very tasteless. Next time, I will stri-fry the tofu with the shrimp to give it more flavor and firmness. But this recipe is a good start to something great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Hey...this was surprisingly good!..lol More like 4.5 stars. I doubled the shrimp (I used bigger ones and cut them into thirds). After the soup was finished and heated through I added some fresh cilantro, and about 3/4 t. liquid smoke. It was even better the second day! Next time I'll up the ginger, garlic, and have some fresh cut green onions on hand for a topping. It was also a recipe that was easily converted to a Weight Watchers recipe. Made with fat free chicken broth it was only 2 pts per serving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
This was very easy and tasted great! I made this for my grandmother, and because she can't swallow large pieces I chopped the shrimp into smaller, bite sized pieces, which worked out great for the kids too. The only other change I made was that I doubled the cornstarch. (I liked the soup a little thicker.) We ate it over white rice, and everyone, including the kids liked it. My husband says it's a keeper. (And that's saying a lot.) Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waipahu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
My kids ate TOFU!! Everyone loved this! I'm glad I read the reviews, otherwise I wouldve used rice vinegar. I found rice wine next to the cooking wines at my local market. Make sure you use fresh ginger (smelled amazing) and firm tofu. I added scallions and served w/white rice and soy sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
turned out really good. wasnt expecting much from this recipe at all. i like to add a bag of bean sprouts and everyonce in a while some rice noodles to make it more of a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jstank
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
Delicious. Husband and I both enjoyed. Didn't have ginger on hand - used Chinese 5 Spice blend. Used reviewer's suggestion to stir fry the tofu. Added nice flavour. Finished with a handful of fresh cilantro from our garden and served over white jasmine rice. Looking forward to the leftovers for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jstank

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MOLLE888
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
DELICIOUS! I added chopped leeks to the soup (just the green parts) and more green peas. I used a can of small shrimp that had been cooked, rather than uncooked shrimp, and the taste was great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This recipe was just wonderful! Instead of the peas I used a little bit of cabbage. I let the cabbage cook with the broth, I skipped on the starch. It still turned out great. My two and four year old loved it, so it is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I found this recipe very bland, so I decided not to serve to my guests. I later added noodles, broccoli, and an asian spice packet I had gotten at an asian store. My husband and sons ate the whole thing up immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
so easy and delicious. used frozen peas / carrots and sliced shrimp into 3rds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States