Chinese Shrimp and Tofu Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This was wonderful! I used more garlic, shrimp and tofu and omitted the ginger (we're not fans). I cooked the shrimp and garlic in sesame oil and used soy sauce to add flavor to the soup. I didn't have any peas so used some corn and spinach. It was restaurant quality!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I followed the recipe, then added canned baby corn for extra crunch (cut into chunks)chopped scallions and cilantro. I would have included sliced water chestnuts as well, but didn't have any on hand. Also added a few dashes of chili-sesame oil and very little white pepper for a kick. The original recipe was slightly bland for my taste, but with the additions the soup turned out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
Quite tasty, but I did follow the advice of others and upped the garlic. I also added mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
The reason im giving this only 3 stars isnt cause its bad. But for me it was very bland by itself. This was a great starting point for something great. After the additions i made it was easily 4 stars. I took the advice of the previous reviews and saute the shrimp + tofu in the garlic + ginger. 3 large cloves of garlic (instead of 2) 8 oz shrimp (instead of 6) olive in place of vegetable oil I added: 2 large handfuls of bean sprouts 3 green onions sliced 1 teaspoon rice vinegar 2 tablespoons seasame oil 3 tablespoons soy sauce dash of red pepper dash of cheyenne pepper served with edamame delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
if the can chicken stock is added you dont have to use veg oil.better add a little egg drops(stir the egg and added slowly into the boiled soup ) and a few drops of sesame oil after the wet cornstarch is added that will taste better, me a chinese...hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Amazing!!! I added scallion and soy sauce. I also sauteed firm tofu with the shrimp :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loxahatchee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I pretty much followed this recipe. I only had cooked shrimp, so I marinated it in chile sauce and hot chili oil and added it at the end. Added scallions and cabbage. Used firm, pressed tofu, but forgot to marinade it- bland. I did stirfry it in place of the shrimp. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Jo Kimrey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I made the recipe as is and, although it was good, it was a little bland. I agree with the other reviewers about stir frying the tofu, adding green onions and cilantro. This was my first time using tofu & it wasn't bad. Even my husband went back for seconds and he likes very flavorful foods. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I found this recipe very bland, so I decided not to serve to my guests. I later added noodles, broccoli, and an asian spice packet I had gotten at an asian store. My husband and sons ate the whole thing up immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I really liked this. I slightly increased the ginger, and b/c I'm not crazy about peas I used escarole instead. I also stir-fried the tofu with the shrimp. I have also made this soup with diced chicken breast instead of the shrimp and it is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States