Chinese Shrimp and Tofu Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
This recipe was my first time with tofu. I followed exactly but I will likely make a couple of changes the next time I try this. I will cut back on the salt, maybe by about half. Also, I've been told that tofu takes on the flavor of the food it is cooked with, which I didn't find the case in this recipe. I just don't think it was a part of the whole dish long enough to get those flavors. As some suggest, I may stir fry it next time, and yes, there will be a next time. The rest of the dish is fantastic. The ginger/pepper/garlic mix is perfect. I questioned using black pepper instead of white, but the black was definitely the way to go. Thanks for a great first time and this gives me a great start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by duboo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langdon, North Dakota, USA
Photo by ferrarired
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
Great recipe!!!! My girls loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a very tasty and simple soup to pair with a stir-fry dinner. I used frozen shrimp meat and that worked great. Also, I used extra ginger to give it a bit more zing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was super good, I added fresh mushrooms and green onions to it. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Very easy to make and adjust with what you on hand. I liked the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by navelring7
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I just made this soup today and it is FABULOUS!! Super easy to make, so tasty, lots of flavor. This was my first attempt at using tofu so I followed some of the tips from previous cooks. I sauteed the tofu with the shrimp in the garlic and ginger. I did not have ginger root so I used ground ginger - about 1 tsp. I also used more minced garlic than called for. I added sliced green onions, white mushrooms, enoki mushrooms, fresh spinach and substituted fresh sugar pea pods for the peas. This soup is so incredibly delicious! I will most definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by navelring7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Excellent item. We made it as a side soup but made it our main meal. Added spinach to the mix ten minutes before serving and made it with vegetable stock instead of chicken. Used baked teriyaki flavored tofu and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
loved it..hubby said second bowl was even better..I think I will stir fry the tofu with the shrimp like a member here said to add more flavor and firmness..was a easy soup and fast soup to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josies_daughter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I grated the ginger (I keep mine in the freezer, which makes grating easy) and substituted Chinese greens and broccoli slaw for the peas. I also added enoki mushrooms, used size 31/40 shrimp and added an extra pint of broth. I didn't bother thickening with cornstarch. It worked out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This soup is quick to prepare, tasty, & healthy. I've made it several times now and usually substitute cabbage shreds for the peas, although this last time I used both. I also adjust the salt level with Tamari soy sauce (instead of regular salt) and prefer a thicker consistency with double the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States