Chinese Shrimp and Tofu Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is a very tasty and simple soup to pair with a stir-fry dinner. I used frozen shrimp meat and that worked great. Also, I used extra ginger to give it a bit more zing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was super good, I added fresh mushrooms and green onions to it. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Very easy to make and adjust with what you on hand. I liked the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbieT.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by navelring7
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I just made this soup today and it is FABULOUS!! Super easy to make, so tasty, lots of flavor. This was my first attempt at using tofu so I followed some of the tips from previous cooks. I sauteed the tofu with the shrimp in the garlic and ginger. I did not have ginger root so I used ground ginger - about 1 tsp. I also used more minced garlic than called for. I added sliced green onions, white mushrooms, enoki mushrooms, fresh spinach and substituted fresh sugar pea pods for the peas. This soup is so incredibly delicious! I will most definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by navelring7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Excellent item. We made it as a side soup but made it our main meal. Added spinach to the mix ten minutes before serving and made it with vegetable stock instead of chicken. Used baked teriyaki flavored tofu and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
loved it..hubby said second bowl was even better..I think I will stir fry the tofu with the shrimp like a member here said to add more flavor and firmness..was a easy soup and fast soup to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by josies_daughter

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I grated the ginger (I keep mine in the freezer, which makes grating easy) and substituted Chinese greens and broccoli slaw for the peas. I also added enoki mushrooms, used size 31/40 shrimp and added an extra pint of broth. I didn't bother thickening with cornstarch. It worked out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This soup is quick to prepare, tasty, & healthy. I've made it several times now and usually substitute cabbage shreds for the peas, although this last time I used both. I also adjust the salt level with Tamari soy sauce (instead of regular salt) and prefer a thicker consistency with double the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was a really great base to work with. I sauteed beet greens and stems with twice the amount of garlic and ginger called for, and omitted the peas. 1t of salt makes the soup very salty and overpowers the spices, so I used 1/4t salt. More can be added at the table. I also added a can of water chestnuts -- many variations can be made to this great start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This is restaurant quality soup! Nothing needed to be changed or added. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How To Make Miso Soup

Find out how easy it is to make miso soup at home.

Wonton Soup

See how to make tasty stuffed wontons simmered in a light chicken broth.

The Chinese Pantry

A few spices and ingredients will help you make delicious Chinese food at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States