Chinese Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This went from a 4-star recipe cooked as written using a whole chicken to 5 stars when I doubled the sauce recipe and mixed it a plastic bag, then shook up a whole, cut-up chicken in it, and baked it for about an hour (I used parchment paper on the baking tray and poured the remaining sauce over the chicken). Outstanding flavor, and everyone loved it, even my picky husband. It's one of my staple recipes now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Colmenarejo, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This was a great change from the standard roast chicken. I did make a few substitutions-- I used chinese 5 spice blend in place of the spices, sesame oil in place of the veg. oil, and used Mirin in place of the sherry. I also only cooked it to 160F (it would have been toast if we'd gone to 180F). The adults and my 3 year old loved it. My five year old complained that it didn't taste like chicken, LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Omitted the sherry and fennel seed, (didn't have any.) And cooked as directed, except that I tied the legs together and covered the wings after about an hour to prevent burning. Baked for about 2 hours. This was juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This was good, but a couple of changes. I would marinate the chicken at least 2 hours or more in the fridge before cooking. There was not much flavor to the meat just be basting. Also, for a 4 lb chicken, check often with a meat thermometer as cooking time made it slightly dry. Smells wonderful while cooking though... All in all, a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Maine, USA
Living In: Falmouth, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this with a couple of Cornish hens. I wanted as much flavor as possible so I injected marinade under the skin, and let it sit in the fridge all day. Turned out great. I served it with 'Bok Choy, Carrots and Green Beans' from this site. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Pretty good. I used real ginger and threw it in the cavity instead of powdered. If you don't like 5 spice anything don't make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I didnt have all the ingrediants but used wat I had and it came out tasting really good. Definately a keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
The flavor is definitely a welcome change from other roasted chicken recipes, although I did notice that more of the sauce would have made a big improvement. Also, I had pulled a leg off the chicken to test for doneness and just laid it in the pan while it all finished roasting. That piece was the best of all because it had soaked up the sauce and was very flavorful. The next time I make this I will use chicken pieces instead of a whole chicken and use more of the soy sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Baldwin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Definitely double the sauce and I found that if you add some water to the sauce and boil it to make a gravy, it would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made a few changes. I omitted fennel & cloves & sherry. I used Aloha Soyu & Sesame Oil. I also used fresh finger. I put all the spices in the cavity of the chicken. I rubbed the chicken inside & out with coarse Hawaiian sea salt. I cooked the chicken breast side down in a cast iron Dutch oven It was delicious. I am 66 & have been cooking since I was about 10 so always make changes to recipes based on past experience. This is a good basic recipe. Just learn to trust your instincts. It just takes practice; like anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States