Chinese Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Double the sauce, baste every 1/2 hour. Follow the cooking directions on the chicken itself. Def will make again. It was very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie_25

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made a few changes. I omitted fennel & cloves & sherry. I used Aloha Soyu & Sesame Oil. I also used fresh finger. I put all the spices in the cavity of the chicken. I rubbed the chicken inside & out with coarse Hawaiian sea salt. I cooked the chicken breast side down in a cast iron Dutch oven It was delicious. I am 66 & have been cooking since I was about 10 so always make changes to recipes based on past experience. This is a good basic recipe. Just learn to trust your instincts. It just takes practice; like anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Definitely double the sauce and I found that if you add some water to the sauce and boil it to make a gravy, it would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Omitted the sherry and fennel seed, (didn't have any.) And cooked as directed, except that I tied the legs together and covered the wings after about an hour to prevent burning. Baked for about 2 hours. This was juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
The flavor is definitely a welcome change from other roasted chicken recipes, although I did notice that more of the sauce would have made a big improvement. Also, I had pulled a leg off the chicken to test for doneness and just laid it in the pan while it all finished roasting. That piece was the best of all because it had soaked up the sauce and was very flavorful. The next time I make this I will use chicken pieces instead of a whole chicken and use more of the soy sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Baldwin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Grice

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I didnt have all the ingrediants but used wat I had and it came out tasting really good. Definately a keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
May as well have put nothing on the chicken for as little flavor as the sauce added to the meat. I have better luck basting with just soy sauce and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Pretty good. I used real ginger and threw it in the cavity instead of powdered. If you don't like 5 spice anything don't make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this with a couple of Cornish hens. I wanted as much flavor as possible so I injected marinade under the skin, and let it sit in the fridge all day. Turned out great. I served it with 'Bok Choy, Carrots and Green Beans' from this site. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Try this easy and delicious way to make a juicy roast chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States