Chinese Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I made a few changes. I omitted fennel & cloves & sherry. I used Aloha Soyu & Sesame Oil. I also used fresh finger. I put all the spices in the cavity of the chicken. I rubbed the chicken inside & out with coarse Hawaiian sea salt. I cooked the chicken breast side down in a cast iron Dutch oven It was delicious. I am 66 & have been cooking since I was about 10 so always make changes to recipes based on past experience. This is a good basic recipe. Just learn to trust your instincts. It just takes practice; like anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Definitely double the sauce and I found that if you add some water to the sauce and boil it to make a gravy, it would be even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Omitted the sherry and fennel seed, (didn't have any.) And cooked as directed, except that I tied the legs together and covered the wings after about an hour to prevent burning. Baked for about 2 hours. This was juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
The flavor is definitely a welcome change from other roasted chicken recipes, although I did notice that more of the sauce would have made a big improvement. Also, I had pulled a leg off the chicken to test for doneness and just laid it in the pan while it all finished roasting. That piece was the best of all because it had soaked up the sauce and was very flavorful. The next time I make this I will use chicken pieces instead of a whole chicken and use more of the soy sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Baldwin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leon, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I didnt have all the ingrediants but used wat I had and it came out tasting really good. Definately a keeper in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
May as well have put nothing on the chicken for as little flavor as the sauce added to the meat. I have better luck basting with just soy sauce and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Pretty good. I used real ginger and threw it in the cavity instead of powdered. If you don't like 5 spice anything don't make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
I made this with a couple of Cornish hens. I wanted as much flavor as possible so I injected marinade under the skin, and let it sit in the fridge all day. Turned out great. I served it with 'Bok Choy, Carrots and Green Beans' from this site. Good stuff. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Not sure if I would try this one again. We marinaded in for 1 hr at room temp, turning if often. I didn't have the fennel seed, so maybe that would have made the differeence. It smelled GREAT when it was cooking, but after we pealed the skin off, the meat didn't have any flavor....I guess this is a common issue. Maybe we should have injected some of the marinade. We cooked a 3.8 lb bird for 90 minutes and it was cooked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SharkSteak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States