Chinese Roast Chicken with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
I made this today except I didn't bake the chicken-I boiled it. I never thought Abt adding sesame oil to the water used to boil chicken till I saw this recipe-it gave me the idea. I rinsed the whole chicken, covered it in sesame oil, & put it in a medium sized soup pan almost halfway filled with water. I rinsed all th livers, gizzards, chicken heart in the packet & threw it all in the pot. Afterwards, I poured more sesame oil and couple splashes of low sodium soy sauce into the water. I also peeled some carrots and threw it in there whole. I simmered the chicken (covered) on medium low heat for abt 1hr. I turned the chicken over midway (after 30min). I had to add a little more sea salt after the chicken was cooked but overall, The chicken was so tender and this recipe made such a delicious tasting delicate broth! I'm mostly using this chicken to put on salad (shredding it to little chunks once it cools) so it turned out ok. But The broth is tastey! I didn't want to throw it away. I poured it over some hot rice and ate that with the chicken livers (best part) & boiled carrots. Mm mm good! I didn't need to use any of the cornstarch with my method and the kitchen smelled so good while it was cooking. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inspectorGadget
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
I have made this recipe multiple times and with minor modifications have absolutely loved it. I use low sodium soy sauce and chicken stock. But it is fabulous. The next day i shred the chicken and serve it with the leftover rice, green onion and hard boiled eggs. That is IF there are any leftovers which is pretty rare. Great recipe. Simple and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Turned out great: tasty and moist. Other complained about saltiness, but we did not find that to be so. The taste was a good balance. I followed another review and added chopped onion and minced garlic. Also, basted the chicken a couple times during the bake-time. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
This was crazy-salty and I don't think I'd make it again. It was pretty, as far as presentation, but even though I used reduced-sodium soy sauce, I still found it really salty. When there are so many nice roast chicken recipes, I don't think I'd use this one to fall back on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
the chicken was ok. the gravy wasn't any good. The sesame seed oil was a bit too much. I will be deleting this recipe from my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Very tasty. Found the gravy to be a touch salty, but really great taste. Chicken was very moist and tender. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This was awesome. Next time I wouldn't measure out the oil and soy, even with the reduced amounts some have suggested. Pouring enough to coat the chicken generously is fine and you won't waste expensive sesame oil. I coated with oil first, as someone suggested, then soy. I then poured maybe 1/2 cup water in the pan to prevent burning. Skin side down first to absorb flavor, then flip to skin side up to crisp. It was SO moist, delicious, and unique. Sesame oil brings the true taste of Chinese cooking. Do not substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatikWindmillTurban

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I loved it for the taste and simplicity but unfortunately the family didn't think it was anything special so probably won't be making it again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Loved this chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
My kids loved this especially the gravy. They generally don’t like gravy. The chicken had just enough seasoning although I used low sodium soy. The oil really helps the skin become crisp. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States