Chinese Roast Chicken with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
The only reason I gave this 4 stars was because my kids didn't like the gravy. The chicken was awesome, tender and juicy. Next time will skip the gravy and just serve the chicken to my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
I made this recipe "as is" and it was a huge hit with my family. Better than the store made rotiiserie chickens! Thank you for sharing this treasure.--mgw
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
We loved this. I changed the recipe based on some of the other reviews and stuffed the chicken with chopped onion, garlic, celery and some grated fresh ginger. Basted the chicken with the sesame oil and then with some low sodium soy sauce. I kept basting it throughout the cooking time (30 mins at 400 and then 1hr 30 mins at 350). I only used about 1/3 cup soy sauce, since we do not like salty food. I added 1/2 cup chicken stock and 1/2 cup orange juice to the roasting pan at the beginning of the cooking time. When the chicken was cooked, I carved it and placed it in a seperate serving dish and removed the stuffing from the carcass and added it to the sauce in the pan. I did not make the gravy with the cornstarch since the sauce was thick enough and really tasty. I served it with brown basmati rice and it was truly wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JULIEDS
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is excellent! I put on the oil first and it came out very moist. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA
Living In: Saginaw, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
Easy to make and the gravy isn't overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This recipe was certainly easy to do. It seemed to cook a bit faster than I anticipated but I caught it in time so it was still very tender. I must have put too much chicken broth in the pan early on because when I tried to make the gravy it didn't thicken up well, but it was more of a light sauce and still tasted very good. I put a little brown rice and a salad on the side. It was great even the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
We will definitely make this chicken again!! AWESOME!! I used a whole onion and stalk of celery with minced ginger in cavity. Slathered oil then soy sauce. Added 1 cup orange juice to roasting pan. Baked breast down for one hour and breast up for rest. Gravy: 2 cups chicken stock added to pan drippings and cornstarch diluted in water to thicken. Best gravy I ever ate. (and made)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
One of the worst things I've tried. 3/4 cup is way too much soy sauce. It dripped into the bottom of the pan and burned. The chicken didn't have much flavor either. Maybe with less soy sauce it would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
it is totaly awsome! yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is great! Changes...used 1/2 cup reduced soy sauce, added 1/2 tsp black pepper and 1/4 tsp salt to soy sauce, rubbed chicken with oil (under skin too)before I poured soy mixture over it, stuffed chicken with cut onions and garlic, poured chicken stock around bottom of chicken to bake, and used a 6 lb bid so increased cook time to total of 2 hours. I also didn't make the gravy. The skin was the best part! Man, the leftovers were incredible, too. Used them for chicken and noodles and it was way better than usual. A really easy recipe and wonderful results! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States