Chinese Roast Chicken with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
i have made this several times and have not been disappointed yet. my family loves it. i drizzle some of the sesame oil on it when i first put it in. also, i rub a mix of ginger, garlic powder, salt and pepper under the skin. great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I made this recipe on Wednesday for my family. All of us had several helpings so much so that there were no leftovers. I did as someone else did and rubbed the chicken with the sesame oil before pouring the soy sauce over it. It turned out really great. I also made the gravy and some rice. What an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
My Mom loved this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Love it! I've made it twice and I'm in the process of making it a third time. I put the sesame oil on the chicken first then the soya sauce. I make sure that I baste it every 15 mins. Add chicken broth to the pan when cooking, it will prevent the soya sauce from burning. So good on egg fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
Great chicken! Everyone diverts from the original, as did I. But the Skin comes out nice and crispy with the sesame oil, and very tasty overall. A great simple recipe, just the way I like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummygrouch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
This is so good. I've made it several times and OMG, I've never made a better roast chicken! I did rub the chicken first with the sesame oil and then poured the soy sauce over it. I roasted it in a pan with a lid and that meant that the soy sauce didn't dry up. Usually I would add a cup of chicken stock, but I didn't this time and this worked perfect for the gravy. This was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I make this all the time now because it always comes out moist and delicious. It's like brining the bird without all the trouble! I do put a cup of water or broth in the pan to prevent burning of the juices. I 'paint' on the soy and sesame oil, add the broth and roast at 400 the entire time. Takes about 1 hour and 10 minutes to get the internal temp to 170. I make at least 2 chickens at a time. My favorite thing at the moment is to make this recipe just using chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. I do everything the same, except just half a cup or so water, enough to cover the bottom of the pan by about a quarter inch. Then bake at 400. It takes about 40 minutes for the biggest breasts to cook to 170, but less time for smaller ones that are sometimes in the same package. I just start checking around 35 minutes. Extremely yummy moist chicken. Thanks so much for the jumping off point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Sheets

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springboro, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Was okay, have had better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Yum, yum! I made this last night for dinner and it was sooooo easy!!! It was moist and delicious - my whole family loved it! When I noticed the soy sauce starting to burn a bit on the bottom of the pan I just added a bit more chicken stock. The gravy was delicious, but a bit salty Be sure to use low-sodium chicken stock and soy sauce (I only had regular soy). Thanks for a great recipe - will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. I followed the advise of a reviewer and added the oil during cooking along with the chicken broth - turned out wonderfully. Very moist and the gravy was fantastic. I found it a little on the salty side even with reduced sodium soy sauce so next time I will use a little less and replace with a little more chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States