Chinese Roast Chicken with Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Very good. I only used ~1T of oil...cannot stand an oil slick. I shredded the chicken in the "gravy" and served over rice. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
so simple and yet SO DELICIOUS! I don't even make the gravy. I find the roast chicken by itself is flavorful enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Easy to make and yummy! I added ginger based on someone else's comments. My husband is a fan! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I used two chicken quarters and reduced the soy sauce & sesame oil since it wasn't a whole chicken. The whole house smelled wonderful and the flavor of the chicken was great. The gravy itself did turn out quite salty (it IS soy sauce after all!) but I treated it kind of like an au jus just dipping a little at a time. All in all a great and simple flavorful recipe! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very interesting twist on gravy. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
A very, very nice and different way to get fantastic flavour into a roast chicken! Made a couple of tweaks, and with these adaptions it is a 5 star recipe no question. I added some diced white onion and crushed garlic cloves to the roasting pan. I also added 1/2 tsp of toasted sesame oil in right at the end before serving. Scumptious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Booth

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Bath, Somerset, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I tried this with chicken legs because that's what I had on hand. They turned out so moist and delicious! I was amazed that so few ingredients could produce something so good. Basted with soy first, 400 degree oven, turned halfway through and basted with more soy and then sesame oil. Total cooking time was about 40 minutes. I did add a little chicken stock to the pan while baking to prevent the soy from burning. The pan sauce was very salty so I added about a Tbsp of sour cream and it was amazingly yummy over rice. No need to thicken with cornstarch. This recipe is a definite keeper and probably my new go-to when I need some chicken for a sandwich or salad. I think next time I'll try split chicken breast or maybe a cornish game hen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
This was so easy and very tasty! Will definitely make again. . . . even picky eaters liked it. And because of the ease, i'm going to share with my cooking challenged friends. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
This is one of my favorite ways to cook a whole chicken. The gravy is salty but heavenly and perfect on rice with steamed vegetables. You have to try this chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JmeMcK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Washington, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
DELICIOUS!! I messed up my cook times a little, and still a great flavor!! Absolutely will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurpud

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Deviled Roast Chicken

Learn how to make deviled roasted chicken with vegetables.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States