Chinese Restaurant-Style Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
i looked at several other recipe on this side inclunding the reviews and decided to try out this one here. i also decided to leave out what i personally don't like and didn't feel like to shop for. so i bought some sweet soy sauce, added some honey and maple syrup and fresh grounded pepper and grounded ginger. marinated the chicken in it for about 20 min. then i coated the chicken with seasoned flour as instructed and fried it in a pan. the remaining marinate i broiled and added some sugar, because my man likes it more sweet. later poured the sauce over the fried chicken mixed it thouroughly. meanwhile i have toasted the sesame in the oven as instructed until they where nice brown. then i placed the chicken on the plate and tossed the toasted sesame just over it. my man loved it, i loved it. therefore a simple advice, just modify recipes to your own taste. success guaranteed. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
The ingredient proportions simply must be wrong. It makes no sense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RONNASTEFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bangkok, Bangkok (Krung Thep Maha Nakhon), Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I'm one of those that really doesn't understand why so many people seem to dislike this recipe. It *is* messy and a little time-consuming. Every time I've made it, it's been a two-person process where my friend will dredge the chicken and drop it into the pan while I cook the chicken. I guess some notes (that others have also given) - make more marinade. it certainly doesn't hurt they sell toasted sesame seeds - saves some time and energy just sprinkle the seeds on at the end as well use more oil. I'm sure we use much more than the oil listed in the recipe (vegetable oil with a little bit of sesame oil works as a substitute as well). the flour soaks up the oil as it cooks, though, so be ready to add more (not as healthy, but it's tasty) it works to cook a little chicken at a time and then set aside. at the end we just add it all back in the pan with the marinade and cook for a bit (I've never boiled the marinade separately - just cooked it for a bit longer at the end). It's not really like I'd imagined before making it the first time - certainly not like any Chinese Restaurant sesame chicken that I've ever had, but it is still delicious in its own way. Just only 4 stars because it's not really something that I expect to ever make on my own (need the helper!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Although not necessarily a "Restaurant-Style" Sesame Chicken, I've found this recipe to be a great success with some brown rice and broccoli. It may get a little messy, but getting involved with the recipe is part of the fun!!! I would suggest doubling or tripling the ingredients for the marinade as you will need extra to ensure the chicken remains moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Standish, Maine, USA
Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was NOT RESTAURANT STYLE SESAME CHICKEN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2007
Um, yeah, this is probably the worst recipe I've ever tried in my entire life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rock Island, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
I did not like this recipe. It was really lacking any "punch" in the flavor...and the flavor from the sauce does not come out very well. I think there should probably be something sweeter added into it - maybe some orange juice to make it like an Orange Sesame Chicken. All in all, won't try it again (did inspire me to try other sesame chicken recipes though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I was very disappointed as it was NOTHING like any restaurant-style sesame chicken I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Monument, Colorado, USA
Living In: Matzenbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States