Chinese Restaurant-Style Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
The marinade for this recipe is great! But amounts should be altered. Use boneless thighs instead of breasts. I added extra syrup, soy sauce, semsame oil and 2 cloves minced garlic to the marinade to make enough sauce to cover broccoli, onions and carrots. Taste is great - my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
WOW!!! YOU ARE THE BEST!!! THANKS FOR THE GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This is an excellent sesame chicken recipe! I don't usually bother to toast the sesame seeds but I've made this plenty of times with slight variations (and approximations) in the recipe. I do always at least double the recipe. A very good base for forming your own style of sesame chicken! I used pork once in the recipe successfully too. I have no idea how so many people could hate this recipe.. I even make it spicier and licoricier by adding extra fennel clove and cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
i looked at several other recipe on this side inclunding the reviews and decided to try out this one here. i also decided to leave out what i personally don't like and didn't feel like to shop for. so i bought some sweet soy sauce, added some honey and maple syrup and fresh grounded pepper and grounded ginger. marinated the chicken in it for about 20 min. then i coated the chicken with seasoned flour as instructed and fried it in a pan. the remaining marinate i broiled and added some sugar, because my man likes it more sweet. later poured the sauce over the fried chicken mixed it thouroughly. meanwhile i have toasted the sesame in the oven as instructed until they where nice brown. then i placed the chicken on the plate and tossed the toasted sesame just over it. my man loved it, i loved it. therefore a simple advice, just modify recipes to your own taste. success guaranteed. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Although not necessarily a "Restaurant-Style" Sesame Chicken, I've found this recipe to be a great success with some brown rice and broccoli. It may get a little messy, but getting involved with the recipe is part of the fun!!! I would suggest doubling or tripling the ingredients for the marinade as you will need extra to ensure the chicken remains moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Standish, Maine, USA
Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
You will definitely want to increase the marinade. I used 4 Tblsp of soy and maple syrup, 1 of sherry and 1 of seasoned rice vinegar. Be careful not to toast your sesame seeds too long, or they taste burnt. And you'll want to use more oil, as 1/2 teaspoon is not enough. I used olive and sesame oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
I agreed with the one review that doubled the liquid. I tripled it, and next time will quadruple. My family likes the sauce to mix in with rice. I also added the garlic and some veggies to get a well-rounded meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Simple and very tasty, but I wouldn't compare it directly to a Chinese restaurant's professionally prepared Sesame Chicken. However, it was very easy (and fun) to make, and it was *extremely* tasty. I do recommend that you double, triple, or quadruple the liquid (soy, maple syrup, sherry, etc.) because there just simply isn't enough to coat all the chicken, nor is there enough to create a sauce. Also, I added 1-1/2 tsp of canola oil to the 1/2 tsp peanut oil -- it increased the crispiness of the chicken, and subdued the strong flavor of the peanut oil. I served it over white rice instead of the lettuce and tomato. Good starchy Chinese rice complements the dish very nicely :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I bought the ingredients before reading the reviews for this recipe. I decided to make it anyway but I made a few changes. First of all I omitted the maple syrup and the 5 spice powder. I added 2 minced garlic cloves and 2 TBS of honey. I cut the chicken into long strips about an inch wide. I did everything else the same except I fried the floured chicken in batches and added a little water at the end of each batch to scrape up the browned bits on the pan and then adding a little more oil before each batch. After the last batch was cooked I poured the remaining marinade in the pan with about 1\2 cup of water and reduced it. Then I poured it over the cooked chicken and sprinkled the sesame seeds on top. It may not taste like a restaurant made it but with these changes it becomes very edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I'm one of those that really doesn't understand why so many people seem to dislike this recipe. It *is* messy and a little time-consuming. Every time I've made it, it's been a two-person process where my friend will dredge the chicken and drop it into the pan while I cook the chicken. I guess some notes (that others have also given) - make more marinade. it certainly doesn't hurt they sell toasted sesame seeds - saves some time and energy just sprinkle the seeds on at the end as well use more oil. I'm sure we use much more than the oil listed in the recipe (vegetable oil with a little bit of sesame oil works as a substitute as well). the flour soaks up the oil as it cooks, though, so be ready to add more (not as healthy, but it's tasty) it works to cook a little chicken at a time and then set aside. at the end we just add it all back in the pan with the marinade and cook for a bit (I've never boiled the marinade separately - just cooked it for a bit longer at the end). It's not really like I'd imagined before making it the first time - certainly not like any Chinese Restaurant sesame chicken that I've ever had, but it is still delicious in its own way. Just only 4 stars because it's not really something that I expect to ever make on my own (need the helper!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States