Chinese Restaurant-Style Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2002
This recipe was my worst cooking experience ever. The flavor was horrifying after a messy and time consuming preparation. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone with functioning taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
My daughter spent a lot of time and money preparing this dish for a family gathering. What a humiliating experience it turned out to be for her! All the guests were aghast upon tasting this dish! They turned greener with each bite and no one finished it. The dinner party was a disaster. I'm sorry but this "sesame chicken" was absolutely not meant for human consumption.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
I love Sesame Chicken but this recipe was not to my taste at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I bought the ingredients before reading the reviews for this recipe. I decided to make it anyway but I made a few changes. First of all I omitted the maple syrup and the 5 spice powder. I added 2 minced garlic cloves and 2 TBS of honey. I cut the chicken into long strips about an inch wide. I did everything else the same except I fried the floured chicken in batches and added a little water at the end of each batch to scrape up the browned bits on the pan and then adding a little more oil before each batch. After the last batch was cooked I poured the remaining marinade in the pan with about 1\2 cup of water and reduced it. Then I poured it over the cooked chicken and sprinkled the sesame seeds on top. It may not taste like a restaurant made it but with these changes it becomes very edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
If I could give this recipe zero or below on this farse of a scale I would. It is truly stomach wrenching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I strictly followed the recipe instructions and do not believe this recipe is correct. The sauce ingredients don't make up enough to marinate and recoat the chicken, plus, when you boil the sauce, it crystalizes and hardens. Instead, I had to marinate, then discard original sauce. Then I mixed together another dose of sauce, and coated after chicken was cooked. Also, I don't think 1/2 teaspoon peanut oil is correct, I used quiet a bit more, to keep my chicken from burning. Before I make this recipe again, I think I'll look for a better glaze style sauce to dip in after the chicken is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
This wasn't like the sesame chicken I've ever had. The spices were too strong. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISS SHEILA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hall Summit, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Not like any sesame chicken in any restaurant I've been to (as claimed by author), and I've been to many. Closer to a General Tso's chicken. I think the key may be in the maple syrup. It probably should be honey instead, IMHO. Otherwise, it's a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I was so disappointed by this recipe! My husband wouldn't even touch it. I could kick myself for not reading the reviews first before spending the money to try this recipe out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2002
This isn't mall foodcourt type sesame chicken but it's still quite good if you like spicy chinese. Do increase the sauce, and serve over white rice with green beans sauted with sesame seeds. The ginger flavor was quite strong, consider decreasing it for a milder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States