Chinese Restaurant-Style Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2000
This recipe does not resemble "resturant" sesame chicken at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2000
The marinade for this recipe is great! But amounts should be altered. Use boneless thighs instead of breasts. I added extra syrup, soy sauce, semsame oil and 2 cloves minced garlic to the marinade to make enough sauce to cover broccoli, onions and carrots. Taste is great - my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
I agreed with the one review that doubled the liquid. I tripled it, and next time will quadruple. My family likes the sauce to mix in with rice. I also added the garlic and some veggies to get a well-rounded meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
I didn't have dry sherry, so I used regular drinking sherry and some white wine. I'm not sure if that was what caused the problem or not, but I got as far as the marinade in this recipe, and disliked the flavor so much that I poured it down the drain and started again from scratch, without the recipe. I used soy sauce, maple syrup, black pepper, white wine, rice vinegar, sesame oil, and far less five spice powder than called for in the recipe to make the marinade. I also added sesame seeds to the flour mixture for dredging, and added steamed broccoli and carrots to the chicken for the final stir-fry step. It ended up great, but I would definitely recommend tasting the marinade as you go and adjusting the recipe to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Simple and very tasty, but I wouldn't compare it directly to a Chinese restaurant's professionally prepared Sesame Chicken. However, it was very easy (and fun) to make, and it was *extremely* tasty. I do recommend that you double, triple, or quadruple the liquid (soy, maple syrup, sherry, etc.) because there just simply isn't enough to coat all the chicken, nor is there enough to create a sauce. Also, I added 1-1/2 tsp of canola oil to the 1/2 tsp peanut oil -- it increased the crispiness of the chicken, and subdued the strong flavor of the peanut oil. I served it over white rice instead of the lettuce and tomato. Good starchy Chinese rice complements the dish very nicely :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
You will definitely want to increase the marinade. I used 4 Tblsp of soy and maple syrup, 1 of sherry and 1 of seasoned rice vinegar. Be careful not to toast your sesame seeds too long, or they taste burnt. And you'll want to use more oil, as 1/2 teaspoon is not enough. I used olive and sesame oils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2001
Although the dish is tasty, it is not the same dish served in restaurants. The dish has a much thinner texture than that of restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2001
This recipe was terrible... I wish I'd read the reviews the day I cooked it, because I had already forgotten the tips by the time I got to it. Doesn't taste anything like what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
If I could give this recipe zero or below on this farse of a scale I would. It is truly stomach wrenching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cadillac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I agree, not like the take-out we all know and love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Restaurant-Style Tequila Lime Chicken

See a tasty homemade take on a famous tequila-lime chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States