Chinese Restaurant-Style Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This is an excellent sesame chicken recipe! I don't usually bother to toast the sesame seeds but I've made this plenty of times with slight variations (and approximations) in the recipe. I do always at least double the recipe. A very good base for forming your own style of sesame chicken! I used pork once in the recipe successfully too. I have no idea how so many people could hate this recipe.. I even make it spicier and licoricier by adding extra fennel clove and cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I bought the ingredients before reading the reviews for this recipe. I decided to make it anyway but I made a few changes. First of all I omitted the maple syrup and the 5 spice powder. I added 2 minced garlic cloves and 2 TBS of honey. I cut the chicken into long strips about an inch wide. I did everything else the same except I fried the floured chicken in batches and added a little water at the end of each batch to scrape up the browned bits on the pan and then adding a little more oil before each batch. After the last batch was cooked I poured the remaining marinade in the pan with about 1\2 cup of water and reduced it. Then I poured it over the cooked chicken and sprinkled the sesame seeds on top. It may not taste like a restaurant made it but with these changes it becomes very edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
I was so disappointed by this recipe! My husband wouldn't even touch it. I could kick myself for not reading the reviews first before spending the money to try this recipe out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
this recipe called for way too much chinese five spice in my opinion. My chicken came out tasting and smelling like liquorice! also after dipping it in just flour and nothing before so the flour actually STICKS to the chicken, it looked very..unpleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHBRASILE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2004
HORRIBLE!!!!! Don't even try to attempt this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIS_GIRL_99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
My daughter spent a lot of time and money preparing this dish for a family gathering. What a humiliating experience it turned out to be for her! All the guests were aghast upon tasting this dish! They turned greener with each bite and no one finished it. The dinner party was a disaster. I'm sorry but this "sesame chicken" was absolutely not meant for human consumption.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This can not be restaunt style. I did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
As everyone said, the marinade is wrong. Need to at least double or triple. Also, I think rolling the chicken in sesame seed is overkill. probably better to sprinkle on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
This wasn't like the sesame chicken I've ever had. The spices were too strong. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISS SHEILA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hall Summit, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Minden, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
I strictly followed the recipe instructions and do not believe this recipe is correct. The sauce ingredients don't make up enough to marinate and recoat the chicken, plus, when you boil the sauce, it crystalizes and hardens. Instead, I had to marinate, then discard original sauce. Then I mixed together another dose of sauce, and coated after chicken was cooked. Also, I don't think 1/2 teaspoon peanut oil is correct, I used quiet a bit more, to keep my chicken from burning. Before I make this recipe again, I think I'll look for a better glaze style sauce to dip in after the chicken is cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice I

A quick chicken stir-fry with loads of crisp, colorful vegetables.

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States