Chinese Restaurant Style Hot Mustard Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
just learned this from my Mom-in-law earlier this week but I couldn't get her to find the ratio between water & mustard. I left the pepper out & was still very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Don't bother with the pepper and depending on your personal heat meter. I would say cut the recipe in half for a single use. But if you don't want it too strong use half the mustard and keep the rest the same. but as is the recipe is very close if not dead on what you get at the local Chinese place.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was fine but next time I will leave out the pepper. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Remember those wonderful mustards in restaurants that make a sandwich taste incredible? They use fine powdered mustards with water. I sweetened the recipe with Splendid to enhance the flavor, reducing the dry bitterness. I also added a sprinkle of salt. 1/2 tsp vinegar helps preserve the homemade mustard, which begins to decline as soon as it is mixed. Adding an acid such as vinegar or rice wine stops the reaction and preserves the sharp edge if you are not using up in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I make mine using just water and Chinese mustard powder. The hotter I want it the longer I let it set at room temperature. Once it has the bite I want I pop it in the fridge. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
My wife picked up Chinese food and forgot to get me hot mustard. I looked this recipe up and it was spot on!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This worked out great for our eggrolls tonight! I omitted the pepper, but followed the recipe otherwise...this is HOT stuff, lol. I will def be using this recipe again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Who would of thought that two ingredients would make this hot mustard. It tastes just like what's in the little packages but much more healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Great! Loved it. I tasted it with and without the white pepper and preferred it with the pepper. Thanks LoriDori4 for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
right on the money, pepper not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Dijon Mustard

See how to make homemade Dijon-style mustard.

How to Make Peanut Dipping Sauce

This simple, Asian-inspired dipping sauce is perfect for grilled meats and more.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States