Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
These cookies have quickly become a favorite in our household. My three children love to help bake them (and eat them!). They are sweet and tasty and a refreshing change from the typical chocolate chip or peanut butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIARE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
very good. I liked the taste and the texture. I went with the lard for one batch and a combo of butter (unsalted) and lard for the second batch. I liked them both, but the butter and lard combo was just a little better in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
We made 70 of these for a Chinese New Year party last week - every single one was eaten by the end of the evening. Will definitely do these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
These were great! Made them for Chinese New Year. They were everything I expected. I stuck straight to the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
great recipe, the cookies taste exactly like those i bought in chinese bakery, and easy to make too. i did increase the amount of almond extract to 3 tsp though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Much closer to an almond shortbread, not quite the fall apart almod wonderfulness I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I was looking for the chinese almond cookie recipe for my 11 yr old daughter(she loves those cookies). I followed the recipe per the directions, even using the lard. I was very skeptical about these, but alas, I really enjoyed them. And my children, especially the 11 yr old, loved them (as well as my 5 yr old nephew, who kept asking, "Auntie can I get another cookie", Over and Over again. I had some pop up guest and they really enjoyed these cookies. One even took some home. I will try the butter/shortening combo to see if it will also be a hit. Thanks, for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Haha, I had this recipe in my cupboard but tweeked it a little. I make it every year during the holidays and everyone scrambles for more - in fact my mother-in-law hides them from the kids so she can finish them herself!! What I tweeked was using almond slivers instead of whole almonds and added a light eggwash glaze before putting the almond on top. Gives a great golden colour, or I suppose you could use food colouring. Cutting in the butter (I use half butter, half butter flavoured Crisco) is a must! It keeps the center moist. I make my cookies a little bigger, so they cook for 20mins on 325*F. I also upped the sugar by 1/4c. and doubled the almond extract (trippling it gives a rich almond flavour). They come out looking a bit undone, but prick them with a toothpick and you'll see that they're well done :) Even without the eggwash, they're darn good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurricaneSoccer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made these for my sister's chinese-theme birthday party...and people thought I had bought them! They were enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XONORA5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I liked this recipe. I made them for a friend who loves almond cookies and she liked it as well. I also used more almond extract. Overall I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States