Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The recipe as written is not flavorful enough, but adding extra almond extract makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
After reading EVERY review I decided to make these cookies using butter and crisco (I had never cooked with lard before so why start now right?). While the cookie came out quite tasty, it was far from authentic. If you are going for authenticity you absolutely MUST use lard, yellow food coloring (10 drops) and egg wash for the tops of the cookies. Once you roll the cookies into 1 inch balls - DO NOT use your hands to flatten cookies (the egg wash will sink into the grooves placed by your fingers and the result will be a striped cookie), use a small glass or other cookie flattening object. I flattened mine to about 1/4 inch. When egg washing, be sure to only do the tops and not the sides. 325 degrees for 20 minutes was perfect. The cookies came out nice and crisp. I also found that the next day they tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
The dough is just like a bunch of flour and can't be made into cookies. To add more moisture, I had to add an additional egg and 1/4 cup milk to the dough. Once I did that, I was able to make the cookies and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Made these for a Chinese book club meeting. They were loved by all. I did brush with egg before baking to get a golden glow as suggested. I also used almond silvers which were the perfect amound. I tripled the almond extract which made them flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Wow! These cookies are fantastic! The only thing I changed was adding about 1/3 cup finely chopped almonds and the egg wash that some other reviewers suggested. My kitchen hardly even got dirty. This is definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
These cookies turn out even better than the Chinese restaurant! Listen to the author, you MUST use Lard (also known as manteca) if you want them to turn out the same as the restaurant cookies. I also used extra almond extract (2 tsp.) since I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I tried the half crisco half butter thing, and tripled the almond extract. It was delicious. My friend's are hooked. Every since I had these at a party I've been craving em, and this is as good as it gets. Mine was a little pale, so I'm going to try an egg wash (1 egg white 1 tsp of water) over it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is a family fave now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Gullino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
These cookies are so yummy I don't know why you need lard for this recipe plus lard is unhealthy and disgusting I used butter and they came out very good I will make this again without the use of lard. Many thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These are good cookies as written but they reminded me more of a "shortbread". I made a second batch with the following changes: I used half Crisco/half unsweetened butter and 2 tsps of Almond Extract. I follow the directions in the recipe to the letter but for the second batch I used my KitchenAid. I used the paddle to cream the shortening and butter together and then switched to the dough hook. I put all the dry ingredients in at one time and "kneaded" the ingredients together until crumbly. I then added the extract and egg and "kneaded" again. The dough wasn't as crumbly as the original recipe and came together nicely but I only got 57 cookies out of each batch using a 1" cookie scoop. This is going to make a great addition to my daughter's International Food and Dance Festival :-)) Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States