Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are really good-crumbly almost crunchy in texture. I used half shortening and half butter with great results, and also added in 2 more teaspoons of almond extract. I would suggest brushing the tops of the cookies with a beaten egg yolk after slightly flattening them with a flat bottom glass. Make sure not to let the egg wash drip over the sides of the cookies. Add an almond on top of each cookie as the last step (i.e. over the egg wash). I baked these for 15 minutes and then on the low broiler mode for just about 3-4 minutes until the tops were lightly golden in color--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
It was a bit "eggy" so the next time I baked these, I just used the egg white only and also omitted the salt. No almonds in my pantry, so I used the end of a chopstick to dab a dot of red dye on the top. I also used a 1 inch size scoop instead of hand rolling them. They came out so light and crisp! I give these out as homemade Christmas gifts with the recipe attached since I am always asked to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT USE MARGARINE!! I substituted margarine for the lard and they were hard and not very tasty. I'm going to give this another shot and use the lard, cross your fingers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
very tender, very buttery, very good! Make sure not to overbake them -they will be done before they look like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
We brought these to a friends house and they were a big hit. I followed the other reviews and changed a few things. I didn't sift the flour and I used butter. I added 2.5 tsp of almond extract and .5 tsp of vanilla. I did the egg wash and they came out golden. Since I use stoneware it took ~ 23 minutes to bake. I used almond slivers not whole nuts, they would have been too much to chew on a cookie. These are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I just made these, and they are so...o good. It is exactly how these cookies are suppose to turn out. I am Chinese and I got to say, this receipe was on the dot. The only change I made which was suggested was add 2 more teaspoons of almond extract. I used almond slices instead of whole almonds, since thats how they sell them in Chinese stores. Also, as suggested in another review, I flattened them with a glass and brushed egg wash. They came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I made them for my book club and they were a great hit! I used reviewers advice and did half butter/half crisco. I also used 3 tsp almond extract. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I used Crisco instead of lard, but I needed to add an extra egg because the mix was too dry to stay together. May have been the size of my eggs. Came out OK, but not the best cookie ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I haven't ever had Chinese almond cookies before, but I gave this recipe a try and thought they came out well. Changes I made: I substituted butter and shortening for the lard and used 2.5 tsp almond extract and .5 tsp vanilla extract. I tried it both with and without the egg wash and they come out beautifully either way. I think the extra extract helps the coloring. I shared these with my boyfriend and several friends and they all loved them. They now have a reputation as dinner ruiners fresh from the oven. These are good cookies, tasty but without the wow factor, hence the 4 out of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This recipe is WAY better than almond cookies in restaurants. The only thing I changed was adding a little more almond flavoring and brushing them with an egg wash before baking. I brought a tray of these cookies to my lady angler meeting and only a few crumbs were left on the tray. This recipe is super easy and the cookies are fabulous!! Definately a keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States