Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Needed to make changes to recipe, after reading reviews it was obvious that the dough was going to be too dry. So I was careful not to add all the flour and at 2 1/4 cups it started to get crumbly. Did use 3 tsp of almond extract as well. Baked with egg wash on top it also helped hold the almond in place and gave the cookie a more traditional appearance, kept in oven for 20 min till light golden brown. With all the recommended changes it was a nice Chinese cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
simple no fool recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that Chinese restaurants served (freshly made, not from a box or package) and this is it with a bit of tweaking. Mine looked nothing like the picture, of the submitter. The dough was too crumbly and the egg and triple almond extract did nothing much to bind the cornmeal-like dry ingredients. I also added an extra 1/2 cup sugar so perhaps this is the reason why it was so dry. I used Crisco instead of lard and I had doubts at first as someone else stated. I added more shortening to make the dough a little more dough-like. Then used a medium ice cream scoop to drop level fulls to the cookie sheet, then using my hands to flatten. I omitted the almond as it is just for looks and did a egg-wash. I baked for 20 minutes until lightly browned and they are the perfect texture and the taste, MMGOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are really good-crumbly almost crunchy in texture. I used half shortening and half butter with great results, and also added in 2 more teaspoons of almond extract. I would suggest brushing the tops of the cookies with a beaten egg yolk after slightly flattening them with a flat bottom glass. Make sure not to let the egg wash drip over the sides of the cookies. Add an almond on top of each cookie as the last step (i.e. over the egg wash). I baked these for 15 minutes and then on the low broiler mode for just about 3-4 minutes until the tops were lightly golden in color--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
It was a bit "eggy" so the next time I baked these, I just used the egg white only and also omitted the salt. No almonds in my pantry, so I used the end of a chopstick to dab a dot of red dye on the top. I also used a 1 inch size scoop instead of hand rolling them. They came out so light and crisp! I give these out as homemade Christmas gifts with the recipe attached since I am always asked to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT USE MARGARINE!! I substituted margarine for the lard and they were hard and not very tasty. I'm going to give this another shot and use the lard, cross your fingers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyBug06445

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
very tender, very buttery, very good! Make sure not to overbake them -they will be done before they look like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
We brought these to a friends house and they were a big hit. I followed the other reviews and changed a few things. I didn't sift the flour and I used butter. I added 2.5 tsp of almond extract and .5 tsp of vanilla. I did the egg wash and they came out golden. Since I use stoneware it took ~ 23 minutes to bake. I used almond slivers not whole nuts, they would have been too much to chew on a cookie. These are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leia Spencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
I just made these, and they are so...o good. It is exactly how these cookies are suppose to turn out. I am Chinese and I got to say, this receipe was on the dot. The only change I made which was suggested was add 2 more teaspoons of almond extract. I used almond slices instead of whole almonds, since thats how they sell them in Chinese stores. Also, as suggested in another review, I flattened them with a glass and brushed egg wash. They came out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I made them for my book club and they were a great hit! I used reviewers advice and did half butter/half crisco. I also used 3 tsp almond extract. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cardiff By The Sea, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States