Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I did not care for this cookie, to me it was like a sugar cookie rather then an almond cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
THANK YOU!!! These were sooooo good they didn't last long. Hubby and kid approved. I will be making these again very soon. The only thing i did different is add 1 tsp. extra of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These cookies are very good. I did add 2 extra tsp. of almond as per other reviewer's suggestions. And used 1/2 butter, 1/2 Crisco as there is never any lard in my kitchen. We are having them tonight after our Chinese New Year celebration dinner. I hope my husband will love them as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I just made these. They are amazing! I used butter and didn't have almond extract so I used 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp hazelnut and they taste perfect. So so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Fantastic, made it with butter because it's what I had on hand. Turned out so tasty! Any almond lover would be happy to get these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ragnhild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Fantastic! I would only add these few points: 1. If using raw almonds, don't forget to roast them first 2. Make 1 day in advance of when you need them as they'll taste even better the 2nd day as the ALmond flavor will really set in. 3. Make an egg wash to swipe over the cookies before going in the oven. Egg wash= 1 yolk + 1tbsp of water. Mix and use. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is an easy recipe but definitely NOT diabetic friendly. LOL Extremely delicous and everybody I made them for raved about them. I modified slightly by using butter instead of lard and I used doubled the almond extract. I would love to make this using almond flour, and truvia (stevia) to improve the glicemic index for it. This is a great recipe that tastes just like the cookies at the chinese restaurants locally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made these for my daughter and her friends. I stuck to the recipe pretty much except I did use a tablespoon of almond extract instead of a teaspoon. I also added 1/4 c chopped toasted almonds to the mix and used toasted sliced almonds on top. I rolled my dough into a log and cut 24 even slices and flattened with the bottom of my 1 cup measure and covered with the almonds. Wow is all I can say, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Yum. Just like in a chinese restaurant and so quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
used the egg wash, 2 tsps almond and baked for 15 mins. these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States