Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These cookies would probably been better made with lard, but I've never seen the real stuff in the store. I used a combo of butter and crisco and had to add an additional egg (maybe a little water next time?) because the dough was too dry and crumbly. I was surprised my children would not eat these. They are similar to the restuarant ones, but not quite as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
HOLY COW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
These cookies were fantastic! My whole family loved them and were asking when i could make them again. I didnt have any almonds, but it didnt seem to matter at all. These cookies were sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I really like this cookie! It has a delicate almond flavor and is easy to make. Butter works great as a replacement. The only part that didn't work so well is that the nut on top was bland and tasteless. Next time I might toast the nuts before adding them. They look and taste great without the extra nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
these were so easy and they tasted great. I rolled the dough into a log and chilled it. Then I used my Pampered Chef crinkle cutter to cut them into about 1/4" slices. Placed a couple almond slices on each one and baked them. My mother-in-law asked me where I bought them. :-) how cool is that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
This cookie was very quick and easy to make. It was a big hit at my chinese-themed dinner. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This was ok. It was a bit too soft for my liking, so I'll definitely up the baking time next go around. Good thing is that it wasn't overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
These were ok. My son liked them, but my daughter didn't. I thought they were ok. I don't think I will bake them as long next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
These are excellent and easy! I used butter instead of lard. Many thanks Rosina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
I made these cookies for a potluck, and they were a major hit! People were raving about my cookies for weeks, I couldn't believe it! I reduced the amount of sugar when I made them, and used butter instead of lard. They still tasted fantastic, as my colleagues attested! When I made my first batch, some of my cookies had slightly burnt bottoms. I had to keep a careful eye out when I made the rest of my batches. All in all, though, I will definitely make these again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States