Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2001
These cookies are so good, you can't stop eating them! I didn't have lard. We used half butter and half Crisco. They were still awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
This is an EXCELLENT, easy and FAST recipe! Everyone loved these cookies! I used the lard, not butter or margarine, VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
After mixing all the ingredients together, the mixture was very dry & crumbly I couldn't form balls...I had to add another egg...and it was still crumbly. These are not like the Chinese Restaurant almond cookies that I've tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
My kids loved helping make this recipe, AND it had a wonderful flavor just as it is. We didnt have whole almonds, just slivered ones and they made 'flowers' with them on the tops. I made this recipe again, used 1/2 cup butter, 1/2 cup shortning instead of a full cup shortning. I also substituted 1/2 tsp vanilla plus 1/2 tsp almond extract just because I was lacking in extract, and they came out amazingly light, and still wonderfully flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
Delicious! I used margarine instead of lard and baked for 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
I ate these cookies all the time while growing up in BKLYN. This recipe is very close to bakery perfection. I did make some adjustments though - I added the chopped walnuts to the flour mixture and added an 1/8 of teaspoon of pure almond extract along with the vanilla and Boy oh Boy were they the BOMB!!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This recipe is grrrrrrrrrrreat! Not only is it quick and easy but the end result is delicious! Perfect consistency...perrrrrrrrrfect! I didn't have regular Crisco lard but I substituted All Vegetable Crisco and they turned out so well I didn't think there would be any cookies for the rest of the family ;0) Thanks so much for submitting this recipe, I love it! Fondly, Laurie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
I also used half butter and half (butter-flavored) Crisco. Fabulous results, but I must mention I made half shaped as balls, and put half through my cookie press. I strongly preferred the latter. The presentation was nice, but the crunch of the little ones was awesome! For those, I used an interesting disk shape, and arranged almond slices on top to go along with the design. Beautiful! I'll go heavier on the extract next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This recipe is great. Cookies are easy to make and have a great almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2003
I followed the directions and took the advice of the others and added some almonds to the batter and an extra 1/2 teaspoon of almonds extra. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM Gooooooood!! Thanks so much for a superb recipe. Delicious!! This is a five star keeper. Much Thanks for sharing this one. Bren
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States