Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
These cookies are *YuMmErS*! I used Crisco and added almost 2 tsp. of Almond extract (may use more next time). Didn't put almonds on top, the extract was plenty. Dough doesn't quite roll, had to squish it together, worked fine! My husband can't keep his hand out of the cookie jar! Definately a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I made these as favors for my daughter's wedding. I like other substituted butter for lard and added extra almond flavoring. I got soooo many requests for the recipe. They were a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Very good. Lard may be authentic but crisco made a great cookie. Will use more almond flavoring next time and perhaps ground almonds in the dough. Will also try the tip of making a log and then cutting it. The dough is a bit crumbly for making balls. We also like a bigger cookie came out with 42 cookies that took 30 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
These cookies would probably been better made with lard, but I've never seen the real stuff in the store. I used a combo of butter and crisco and had to add an additional egg (maybe a little water next time?) because the dough was too dry and crumbly. I was surprised my children would not eat these. They are similar to the restuarant ones, but not quite as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
HOLY COW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
These cookies were fantastic! My whole family loved them and were asking when i could make them again. I didnt have any almonds, but it didnt seem to matter at all. These cookies were sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
I really like this cookie! It has a delicate almond flavor and is easy to make. Butter works great as a replacement. The only part that didn't work so well is that the nut on top was bland and tasteless. Next time I might toast the nuts before adding them. They look and taste great without the extra nut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
these were so easy and they tasted great. I rolled the dough into a log and chilled it. Then I used my Pampered Chef crinkle cutter to cut them into about 1/4" slices. Placed a couple almond slices on each one and baked them. My mother-in-law asked me where I bought them. :-) how cool is that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
This cookie was very quick and easy to make. It was a big hit at my chinese-themed dinner. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This was ok. It was a bit too soft for my liking, so I'll definitely up the baking time next go around. Good thing is that it wasn't overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States