Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made these for my sister's chinese-theme birthday party...and people thought I had bought them! They were enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XONORA5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I liked this recipe. I made them for a friend who loves almond cookies and she liked it as well. I also used more almond extract. Overall I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
A bit greasy but all around delicious and a great tasting cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made this for our kids' preschool Chinese New Year party. They are very easy to make which is a plus. I used 1/2 C of butter and 1/2 C of crisco. I also used 1 1/2 tsp of almond extract. I also made them mini-cookie size and put almond slivers on them. I needed to roll them like "meatballs" so it wouldn't come apart. They came out really pretty. They taste buttery fresh out of the oven. After they cool down, they are crunchy. It seems most adults enjoy them but not the little ones. I would make them but for the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I followed the recipe as written - they were absolutely fabulous!! I made 3 batches in preparation for our Chinese New Year party. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I creamed the butter and sugar first before adding the rest of the ingredients, dough was not dry. Made 90+ with the recipe. A bit sweet, perhaps because I added 3 tsp of almond extract instead. My husband and mother love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Didn't make as many as recipe said. Veery dry and crumbly but still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POLLYHF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shanty Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I still haven’t found a Chinese almond cookie that tastes quite like the store-bought ones. I’ve also tried the Glazed Almond Cookies By Nancy and Almond Cookies III By Anne. I’m giving this recipe 4 stars because it turned out to be the best of the three. I made them for a bake sale and was asked to make them again for a luncheon. Everyone seemed to enjoy them. The second time around I found the best recipe was combining this recipe and the glazed almond cookies. The cookies I’ve been trying to imitate are very yellow, don’t seem to have spread while baking and had an egg wash. So I put an egg yolk in the mixture and saved the white for glazing. I used butter instead of lard. This may have been what caused them to spread. I’m still looking for the perfect almond cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I've made these a number of times and they are absolutly wonderful. I always up the extract by at least 3 fold. For those that have crumbly dough, maybe try using a larger egg (like jumbo). It could add just enough moisture to help keep it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
These cookies turned out delicious! The only things I changed a bit are as follows: I used unsalted butter instead of lard, 3/4 cup white sugar & 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 Tablespoon of almond extract. My boyfriend who does not care for cookies or sweets loved them. I know it is a great recipe if it can please him! :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIEPOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States