Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
We made 70 of these for a Chinese New Year party last week - every single one was eaten by the end of the evening. Will definitely do these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
These were great! Made them for Chinese New Year. They were everything I expected. I stuck straight to the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bernardsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
great recipe, the cookies taste exactly like those i bought in chinese bakery, and easy to make too. i did increase the amount of almond extract to 3 tsp though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
Much closer to an almond shortbread, not quite the fall apart almod wonderfulness I was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I was looking for the chinese almond cookie recipe for my 11 yr old daughter(she loves those cookies). I followed the recipe per the directions, even using the lard. I was very skeptical about these, but alas, I really enjoyed them. And my children, especially the 11 yr old, loved them (as well as my 5 yr old nephew, who kept asking, "Auntie can I get another cookie", Over and Over again. I had some pop up guest and they really enjoyed these cookies. One even took some home. I will try the butter/shortening combo to see if it will also be a hit. Thanks, for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Haha, I had this recipe in my cupboard but tweeked it a little. I make it every year during the holidays and everyone scrambles for more - in fact my mother-in-law hides them from the kids so she can finish them herself!! What I tweeked was using almond slivers instead of whole almonds and added a light eggwash glaze before putting the almond on top. Gives a great golden colour, or I suppose you could use food colouring. Cutting in the butter (I use half butter, half butter flavoured Crisco) is a must! It keeps the center moist. I make my cookies a little bigger, so they cook for 20mins on 325*F. I also upped the sugar by 1/4c. and doubled the almond extract (trippling it gives a rich almond flavour). They come out looking a bit undone, but prick them with a toothpick and you'll see that they're well done :) Even without the eggwash, they're darn good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HurricaneSoccer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I made these for my sister's chinese-theme birthday party...and people thought I had bought them! They were enjoyed by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XONORA5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I liked this recipe. I made them for a friend who loves almond cookies and she liked it as well. I also used more almond extract. Overall I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
A bit greasy but all around delicious and a great tasting cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
I made this for our kids' preschool Chinese New Year party. They are very easy to make which is a plus. I used 1/2 C of butter and 1/2 C of crisco. I also used 1 1/2 tsp of almond extract. I also made them mini-cookie size and put almond slivers on them. I needed to roll them like "meatballs" so it wouldn't come apart. They came out really pretty. They taste buttery fresh out of the oven. After they cool down, they are crunchy. It seems most adults enjoy them but not the little ones. I would make them but for the adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States