Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Wow! These cookies are fantastic! The only thing I changed was adding about 1/3 cup finely chopped almonds and the egg wash that some other reviewers suggested. My kitchen hardly even got dirty. This is definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
These cookies turn out even better than the Chinese restaurant! Listen to the author, you MUST use Lard (also known as manteca) if you want them to turn out the same as the restaurant cookies. I also used extra almond extract (2 tsp.) since I love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I tried the half crisco half butter thing, and tripled the almond extract. It was delicious. My friend's are hooked. Every since I had these at a party I've been craving em, and this is as good as it gets. Mine was a little pale, so I'm going to try an egg wash (1 egg white 1 tsp of water) over it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
This is a family fave now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Gullino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cherryvale, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
These cookies are so yummy I don't know why you need lard for this recipe plus lard is unhealthy and disgusting I used butter and they came out very good I will make this again without the use of lard. Many thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These are good cookies as written but they reminded me more of a "shortbread". I made a second batch with the following changes: I used half Crisco/half unsweetened butter and 2 tsps of Almond Extract. I follow the directions in the recipe to the letter but for the second batch I used my KitchenAid. I used the paddle to cream the shortening and butter together and then switched to the dough hook. I put all the dry ingredients in at one time and "kneaded" the ingredients together until crumbly. I then added the extract and egg and "kneaded" again. The dough wasn't as crumbly as the original recipe and came together nicely but I only got 57 cookies out of each batch using a 1" cookie scoop. This is going to make a great addition to my daughter's International Food and Dance Festival :-)) Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I did the half and half like one of the reviews said and doubled the almond extract. They turned out wonderful. Everyone loved them!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONKEY81600

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is the ONLY almond cookie recipe I will make. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
delicious and original! i substituted 3/4 plain flour with bread flour and used olive oil instead of butter~but the cookies turned out great and people said they smelled good... **but note that use a little less sugar if you prefer them to be less 'heavy'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong (Sar) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I made these this afternoon. I used my stand mixer to mix the dough, which definitely was a must. I used half lard, half unsalted butter because I didn't have enough lard. I then rolled them into balls and rolled them in a spiced sugar mixture. I used the bottom of a drinking glass to flatten them. These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BloodyMaryMorning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States