Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The first time I made these, they were very tasteless. I used coconut oil in place of the lard. The second time I made them I used butter, and 3 tablespoons of almond extract. They were AWESOME the second time. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Excellant cookies. I made a double batch. I did use half butter and half shortening. I used the creaming method and added more almond extract. I used a #40 scoop and got 62 cookies that I pressed down with a crisscrross design with a fork. I did an egg wash and topped with toasted sliced almond before baking. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I grew up eating chinese almond cookies so I am familiar with how it looks and tastes. I did not have any lard so I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 crisco flavored butter. I wanted more almond flavoring so I added 2 T of almond extract. I hand rolled each dough into 1 inch balls and placed onto ungreased baking sheet. I did use an eggwash to brush over the top of the cookies to give it that golden brown color on top. Baking time was 18 minutes for my gas oven. The cookies were a nice golden color, round in shape and tasty just like how I remember it. It was full of yummy almond flavor and had a nice little crunch to it. I should point out that you need to make sure you roll the dough into 1 inch balls becuase they do expand while baking. My only criticism of this recipe is that it states it yields 4 dozen or 48 cookies and I ended up with 27 cookies. This is a good recipe and ended my night perfectly after eating the asian beef skewers with sesame noodles (all from this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I love a strong almond taste and added more extract to my batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
THE BEST Almond cookies I've ever eaten - light, crispy, tasty. Read previous reviews before baking. Checked cupboard for ingredients. Tweaked based on what I had on hand. Like others before me, I used 1/2 Crisco & 1/2 butter (unsalted), 1 egg white, 3 tsps almond extract. Great right out of the oven, but even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JozieLee
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These were very good, but I should have read the reviews and added extra almond extract, 1 tsp. is not enough. I substitued 1/2 butter and 1/2 light margarine for the lard and the cookie texture was a lot like shortbread. I will make these again with the extra almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Needed to make changes to recipe, after reading reviews it was obvious that the dough was going to be too dry. So I was careful not to add all the flour and at 2 1/4 cups it started to get crumbly. Did use 3 tsp of almond extract as well. Baked with egg wash on top it also helped hold the almond in place and gave the cookie a more traditional appearance, kept in oven for 20 min till light golden brown. With all the recommended changes it was a nice Chinese cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
simple no fool recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I was looking for a recipe that Chinese restaurants served (freshly made, not from a box or package) and this is it with a bit of tweaking. Mine looked nothing like the picture, of the submitter. The dough was too crumbly and the egg and triple almond extract did nothing much to bind the cornmeal-like dry ingredients. I also added an extra 1/2 cup sugar so perhaps this is the reason why it was so dry. I used Crisco instead of lard and I had doubts at first as someone else stated. I added more shortening to make the dough a little more dough-like. Then used a medium ice cream scoop to drop level fulls to the cookie sheet, then using my hands to flatten. I omitted the almond as it is just for looks and did a egg-wash. I baked for 20 minutes until lightly browned and they are the perfect texture and the taste, MMGOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
These are really good-crumbly almost crunchy in texture. I used half shortening and half butter with great results, and also added in 2 more teaspoons of almond extract. I would suggest brushing the tops of the cookies with a beaten egg yolk after slightly flattening them with a flat bottom glass. Make sure not to let the egg wash drip over the sides of the cookies. Add an almond on top of each cookie as the last step (i.e. over the egg wash). I baked these for 15 minutes and then on the low broiler mode for just about 3-4 minutes until the tops were lightly golden in color--perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States