Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made these for my daughter and her friends. I stuck to the recipe pretty much except I did use a tablespoon of almond extract instead of a teaspoon. I also added 1/4 c chopped toasted almonds to the mix and used toasted sliced almonds on top. I rolled my dough into a log and cut 24 even slices and flattened with the bottom of my 1 cup measure and covered with the almonds. Wow is all I can say, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Yum. Just like in a chinese restaurant and so quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
used the egg wash, 2 tsps almond and baked for 15 mins. these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Love love love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Castleton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The first time I made these, they were very tasteless. I used coconut oil in place of the lard. The second time I made them I used butter, and 3 tablespoons of almond extract. They were AWESOME the second time. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Excellant cookies. I made a double batch. I did use half butter and half shortening. I used the creaming method and added more almond extract. I used a #40 scoop and got 62 cookies that I pressed down with a crisscrross design with a fork. I did an egg wash and topped with toasted sliced almond before baking. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I grew up eating chinese almond cookies so I am familiar with how it looks and tastes. I did not have any lard so I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 crisco flavored butter. I wanted more almond flavoring so I added 2 T of almond extract. I hand rolled each dough into 1 inch balls and placed onto ungreased baking sheet. I did use an eggwash to brush over the top of the cookies to give it that golden brown color on top. Baking time was 18 minutes for my gas oven. The cookies were a nice golden color, round in shape and tasty just like how I remember it. It was full of yummy almond flavor and had a nice little crunch to it. I should point out that you need to make sure you roll the dough into 1 inch balls becuase they do expand while baking. My only criticism of this recipe is that it states it yields 4 dozen or 48 cookies and I ended up with 27 cookies. This is a good recipe and ended my night perfectly after eating the asian beef skewers with sesame noodles (all from this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I love a strong almond taste and added more extract to my batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
THE BEST Almond cookies I've ever eaten - light, crispy, tasty. Read previous reviews before baking. Checked cupboard for ingredients. Tweaked based on what I had on hand. Like others before me, I used 1/2 Crisco & 1/2 butter (unsalted), 1 egg white, 3 tsps almond extract. Great right out of the oven, but even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JozieLee
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
These were very good, but I should have read the reviews and added extra almond extract, 1 tsp. is not enough. I substitued 1/2 butter and 1/2 light margarine for the lard and the cookie texture was a lot like shortbread. I will make these again with the extra almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States