Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Fantastic! I would only add these few points: 1. If using raw almonds, don't forget to roast them first 2. Make 1 day in advance of when you need them as they'll taste even better the 2nd day as the ALmond flavor will really set in. 3. Make an egg wash to swipe over the cookies before going in the oven. Egg wash= 1 yolk + 1tbsp of water. Mix and use. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is an easy recipe but definitely NOT diabetic friendly. LOL Extremely delicous and everybody I made them for raved about them. I modified slightly by using butter instead of lard and I used doubled the almond extract. I would love to make this using almond flour, and truvia (stevia) to improve the glicemic index for it. This is a great recipe that tastes just like the cookies at the chinese restaurants locally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made these for my daughter and her friends. I stuck to the recipe pretty much except I did use a tablespoon of almond extract instead of a teaspoon. I also added 1/4 c chopped toasted almonds to the mix and used toasted sliced almonds on top. I rolled my dough into a log and cut 24 even slices and flattened with the bottom of my 1 cup measure and covered with the almonds. Wow is all I can say, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Yum. Just like in a chinese restaurant and so quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
used the egg wash, 2 tsps almond and baked for 15 mins. these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNN39SCAF

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
Love love love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Castleton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
The first time I made these, they were very tasteless. I used coconut oil in place of the lard. The second time I made them I used butter, and 3 tablespoons of almond extract. They were AWESOME the second time. Love them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Excellant cookies. I made a double batch. I did use half butter and half shortening. I used the creaming method and added more almond extract. I used a #40 scoop and got 62 cookies that I pressed down with a crisscrross design with a fork. I did an egg wash and topped with toasted sliced almond before baking. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weedsport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I grew up eating chinese almond cookies so I am familiar with how it looks and tastes. I did not have any lard so I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 crisco flavored butter. I wanted more almond flavoring so I added 2 T of almond extract. I hand rolled each dough into 1 inch balls and placed onto ungreased baking sheet. I did use an eggwash to brush over the top of the cookies to give it that golden brown color on top. Baking time was 18 minutes for my gas oven. The cookies were a nice golden color, round in shape and tasty just like how I remember it. It was full of yummy almond flavor and had a nice little crunch to it. I should point out that you need to make sure you roll the dough into 1 inch balls becuase they do expand while baking. My only criticism of this recipe is that it states it yields 4 dozen or 48 cookies and I ended up with 27 cookies. This is a good recipe and ended my night perfectly after eating the asian beef skewers with sesame noodles (all from this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I love a strong almond taste and added more extract to my batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

How to Make Cookies

Follow this simple recipe for perfect homemade cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States