Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
I made these cookies as a tie-in to a book we were reading at my book club. The club devoured the cookies like they had never seen a cookie before! Great recipe! I reduced the flour and increased the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
These cookies were GREAT! They tasted great, and are not so bad for you! The almond extract really gave it its flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made these with butter and we could NOT get enough of them. SO much better than restaurant cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
I did not care for this cookie, to me it was like a sugar cookie rather then an almond cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
THANK YOU!!! These were sooooo good they didn't last long. Hubby and kid approved. I will be making these again very soon. The only thing i did different is add 1 tsp. extra of almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alpena, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flint, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
These cookies are very good. I did add 2 extra tsp. of almond as per other reviewer's suggestions. And used 1/2 butter, 1/2 Crisco as there is never any lard in my kitchen. We are having them tonight after our Chinese New Year celebration dinner. I hope my husband will love them as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I just made these. They are amazing! I used butter and didn't have almond extract so I used 1 tsp vanilla and 1 tsp hazelnut and they taste perfect. So so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Fantastic, made it with butter because it's what I had on hand. Turned out so tasty! Any almond lover would be happy to get these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ragnhild

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Fantastic! I would only add these few points: 1. If using raw almonds, don't forget to roast them first 2. Make 1 day in advance of when you need them as they'll taste even better the 2nd day as the ALmond flavor will really set in. 3. Make an egg wash to swipe over the cookies before going in the oven. Egg wash= 1 yolk + 1tbsp of water. Mix and use. Happy baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This is an easy recipe but definitely NOT diabetic friendly. LOL Extremely delicous and everybody I made them for raved about them. I modified slightly by using butter instead of lard and I used doubled the almond extract. I would love to make this using almond flour, and truvia (stevia) to improve the glicemic index for it. This is a great recipe that tastes just like the cookies at the chinese restaurants locally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States