Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I followed the recipe as written - they were absolutely fabulous!! I made 3 batches in preparation for our Chinese New Year party. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
I creamed the butter and sugar first before adding the rest of the ingredients, dough was not dry. Made 90+ with the recipe. A bit sweet, perhaps because I added 3 tsp of almond extract instead. My husband and mother love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
Didn't make as many as recipe said. Veery dry and crumbly but still tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline Henderson-Ferguson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shanty Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I still haven’t found a Chinese almond cookie that tastes quite like the store-bought ones. I’ve also tried the Glazed Almond Cookies By Nancy and Almond Cookies III By Anne. I’m giving this recipe 4 stars because it turned out to be the best of the three. I made them for a bake sale and was asked to make them again for a luncheon. Everyone seemed to enjoy them. The second time around I found the best recipe was combining this recipe and the glazed almond cookies. The cookies I’ve been trying to imitate are very yellow, don’t seem to have spread while baking and had an egg wash. So I put an egg yolk in the mixture and saved the white for glazing. I used butter instead of lard. This may have been what caused them to spread. I’m still looking for the perfect almond cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2005
I've made these a number of times and they are absolutly wonderful. I always up the extract by at least 3 fold. For those that have crumbly dough, maybe try using a larger egg (like jumbo). It could add just enough moisture to help keep it together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2005
These cookies turned out delicious! The only things I changed a bit are as follows: I used unsalted butter instead of lard, 3/4 cup white sugar & 1/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 Tablespoon of almond extract. My boyfriend who does not care for cookies or sweets loved them. I know it is a great recipe if it can please him! :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIEPOO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
I feel really bad giving these such a low rating (especially where SO many people really loved this recipe) but these cookies just DID NOT turn out for me. I'm not sure if the problem lies in the moisture level of my flour (that can affect a recipe in a big way). The dough was so terribly crumbly that I couldn't form it into a ball at all so I added a bit more egg but the texture was funny. I used to do the baking for a chinese restaurant and almond cookies were something I made a lot of. The outcome of this recipe was nothing like the ones I used to make. :-( Sorry, but like I said, considering all the great reviews, there is a good possibility that the fault lies with my ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2005
These cookies are *YuMmErS*! I used Crisco and added almost 2 tsp. of Almond extract (may use more next time). Didn't put almonds on top, the extract was plenty. Dough doesn't quite roll, had to squish it together, worked fine! My husband can't keep his hand out of the cookie jar! Definately a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2005
I made these as favors for my daughter's wedding. I like other substituted butter for lard and added extra almond flavoring. I got soooo many requests for the recipe. They were a huge success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Brokke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Very good. Lard may be authentic but crisco made a great cookie. Will use more almond flavoring next time and perhaps ground almonds in the dough. Will also try the tip of making a log and then cutting it. The dough is a bit crumbly for making balls. We also like a bigger cookie came out with 42 cookies that took 30 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States