Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
These are good cookies as written but they reminded me more of a "shortbread". I made a second batch with the following changes: I used half Crisco/half unsweetened butter and 2 tsps of Almond Extract. I follow the directions in the recipe to the letter but for the second batch I used my KitchenAid. I used the paddle to cream the shortening and butter together and then switched to the dough hook. I put all the dry ingredients in at one time and "kneaded" the ingredients together until crumbly. I then added the extract and egg and "kneaded" again. The dough wasn't as crumbly as the original recipe and came together nicely but I only got 57 cookies out of each batch using a 1" cookie scoop. This is going to make a great addition to my daughter's International Food and Dance Festival :-)) Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I did the half and half like one of the reviews said and doubled the almond extract. They turned out wonderful. Everyone loved them!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONKEY81600

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This is the ONLY almond cookie recipe I will make. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rancho Santa Margarita, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
delicious and original! i substituted 3/4 plain flour with bread flour and used olive oil instead of butter~but the cookies turned out great and people said they smelled good... **but note that use a little less sugar if you prefer them to be less 'heavy'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong (Sar) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I made these this afternoon. I used my stand mixer to mix the dough, which definitely was a must. I used half lard, half unsalted butter because I didn't have enough lard. I then rolled them into balls and rolled them in a spiced sugar mixture. I used the bottom of a drinking glass to flatten them. These are wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BloodyMaryMorning

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
These were so good! I must have eaten half of them by myself. The recipe was simple and quick. I will definently make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ILUV2COOK25
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Very good. I baked the cookies a few minutes longer until they turned brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILUV2COOK25

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
This recipe is excellent - very easy to make and tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
These cookies have quickly become a favorite in our household. My three children love to help bake them (and eat them!). They are sweet and tasty and a refreshing change from the typical chocolate chip or peanut butter cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIARE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
very good. I liked the taste and the texture. I went with the lard for one batch and a combo of butter (unsalted) and lard for the second batch. I liked them both, but the butter and lard combo was just a little better in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States