Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
I haven't ever had Chinese almond cookies before, but I gave this recipe a try and thought they came out well. Changes I made: I substituted butter and shortening for the lard and used 2.5 tsp almond extract and .5 tsp vanilla extract. I tried it both with and without the egg wash and they come out beautifully either way. I think the extra extract helps the coloring. I shared these with my boyfriend and several friends and they all loved them. They now have a reputation as dinner ruiners fresh from the oven. These are good cookies, tasty but without the wow factor, hence the 4 out of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
This recipe is WAY better than almond cookies in restaurants. The only thing I changed was adding a little more almond flavoring and brushing them with an egg wash before baking. I brought a tray of these cookies to my lady angler meeting and only a few crumbs were left on the tray. This recipe is super easy and the cookies are fabulous!! Definately a keeper !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I wanted to bake something simple for Chinese New Year but was hesitant when I saw that the recipe called for lard. Then I remembered that I had some lard sitting in the fridge and whole almonds sitting in the cupboard and needed to get rid of both sooner or later - so what the heck. I kept thinking that my cookies would turn out smelling of pork. The dough smelled of pork so I added a tad more almond extract and vanilla. The smell from the oven smelled of pork. I thought there goes all my effort down the drain. When I tried the first cookie, I couldn't believe it. The pork smell was gone! The cookies were crisp and just like bought ones. My guests were also impressed! Thank you Rosina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I love these, they remind me of Kung Fu Panda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_cuppin_cakes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Kind of hard to work with the dough. I added a couple more eggs to make the dough easier to work with. The taste was pretty good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
The recipe as written is not flavorful enough, but adding extra almond extract makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
After reading EVERY review I decided to make these cookies using butter and crisco (I had never cooked with lard before so why start now right?). While the cookie came out quite tasty, it was far from authentic. If you are going for authenticity you absolutely MUST use lard, yellow food coloring (10 drops) and egg wash for the tops of the cookies. Once you roll the cookies into 1 inch balls - DO NOT use your hands to flatten cookies (the egg wash will sink into the grooves placed by your fingers and the result will be a striped cookie), use a small glass or other cookie flattening object. I flattened mine to about 1/4 inch. When egg washing, be sure to only do the tops and not the sides. 325 degrees for 20 minutes was perfect. The cookies came out nice and crisp. I also found that the next day they tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
The dough is just like a bunch of flour and can't be made into cookies. To add more moisture, I had to add an additional egg and 1/4 cup milk to the dough. Once I did that, I was able to make the cookies and they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Made these for a Chinese book club meeting. They were loved by all. I did brush with egg before baking to get a golden glow as suggested. I also used almond silvers which were the perfect amound. I tripled the almond extract which made them flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kailua Kona, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Wow! These cookies are fantastic! The only thing I changed was adding about 1/3 cup finely chopped almonds and the egg wash that some other reviewers suggested. My kitchen hardly even got dirty. This is definitely a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States