Chinese Restaurant Almond Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Excellent cookie! Very easy to make. I followed the suggestions of several reviewers to use half butter and half butter flavored Crisco and was happy with the results. My cookies were a little crumbly - not sure why. I also added 3 teaspoons of almond extract. I'm glad that I did. I do appreciate the comments of the reviewers who suggested these tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Really good! I used gluten free baking mix instead of flour and it still tastes awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Majken Bullard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Perfect little cookies. Made them exactly as directed... W/ butter. Making them again to send to my daughter who's away for the summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I use fresh lard, and feel that it is a wetter constancy then butter. I used fresh orange instead of the almond extract, and replaced 1/2 cup of the flour with 1/2 cup of fresh ground almonds. Before baking I brushed the tops of the cookies with a mixture of one part egg white and one part water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Tried this recipe and I must say that I'm very disappointed.They tasted bland. Sorry but i did not like. Maybe I'll try it with 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 lard next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Damaris Nieves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I didn't have any lard so, i used shortening, of course, it didn't turn out so great. Will try to use lard next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
Being born and raised in Hawaii we ate Almond cookies a lot when we were young. This cookie recipe is the best and brings back my younger days when I was back home in Hawaii Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by poiboi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Truly are like the ones in Chinese Restaurant. I did use 1 T. instead of 1 tsp. of almond extract, but otherwise followed recipe. I did mix the egg and almond extract by hand at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
These are TOO good- my husband and I ended up accidentally eating too many. Made them just as said but no almond on top- thank you for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Keeper, Followed the recipe exactly and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dagus Mines, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States