Chinese Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Try using garlic powder instead of salt and the lite soy sauce. This should cut the sodium considerably. I have not used this recipe but have altered many others due to my own sodium restricted diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
By using fresh garlic and reducing the amount of soy sauce used, this is very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This recipe is pretty good and a nice change - different way to make pot roast. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and used low sodium soy sauce. This makes a large amount of gravy and I think the flavor could be a bit more concentrated. To solve both issues, I'll try using less water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This is a great way to change up pot roast. My family loves it, & they are picky eaters. I even did it with a venison roast & it turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I love this! Bottom line. Searve with rice and green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Great meal, tried with the rice and green beans. my family loves this. It has become a house favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Great taste! Wonderful flavor. Lots of gravy so make some white rice. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmcglone
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Nice change from the usual pot roast. Used low sodium soy sauce and fresh garlic. The flavor is much more subtle than you would think from the list of ingredients. I served it with sugar snap peas and soba noodles cooked in the roast broth. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Pleasantly surprised! Very good recipe. I did take the advice of other reviewers and use low sodium soy sauce, garlic powder, and a little less water. After baking, I removed the meat from the pan and tented on a plate. I finely sliced some onion, added to the liquid and reduced it on the stove for about 30 minutes on medium. Then I added the cornstarch mixture, cooked a little more and it was perfect! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
We really enjoyed this meat dish. My husband says that because it was so good I didn't use a large enough cut of meat. I will do this again as it had a lot better flavor than just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Home Chef Hayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States