Chinese Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this recipe as written. The soy sauce flavor in the juice was overwhelming and it was too strong to just pour all over the meat ... it was more of a dipping-type sauce. The next time I'll cut the soy sauce down to 1/2 C and maybe add more honey. I served with white rice and broccoli. Not bad and worth trying again with some changes. UPDATE 3/13: Made again, kept soy sauce the same but added a cup of water. It cooked nicely but for some reason some of the meat was dry... I think that is more the cut of meat's fault rather than the recipe. The juice was delicious, so much so that my daughter asked me to save it so she could "drink it." Yuck. As good as it was I did not comply!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
LOVED IT! i used garlic powder instead of galic salt! to me it worked just as well! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This was good. It's the gravy that makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
Surprisingly good, and very easy. This recipe converted us from not really liking pot roast to fighting over leftovers. What a great winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
great way to dress up a chuck roast. I added two cloves garlic minced to liquid and omitted garlic salt. I also added some roasted bell pepper. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
We really enjoyed this meat dish. My husband says that because it was so good I didn't use a large enough cut of meat. I will do this again as it had a lot better flavor than just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Home Chef Hayes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Pleasantly surprised! Very good recipe. I did take the advice of other reviewers and use low sodium soy sauce, garlic powder, and a little less water. After baking, I removed the meat from the pan and tented on a plate. I finely sliced some onion, added to the liquid and reduced it on the stove for about 30 minutes on medium. Then I added the cornstarch mixture, cooked a little more and it was perfect! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
Nice change from the usual pot roast. Used low sodium soy sauce and fresh garlic. The flavor is much more subtle than you would think from the list of ingredients. I served it with sugar snap peas and soba noodles cooked in the roast broth. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Great taste! Wonderful flavor. Lots of gravy so make some white rice. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmcglone
Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Great meal, tried with the rice and green beans. my family loves this. It has become a house favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States