Chinese Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
This was good. It is a great starter recipe. I think next time I want something more added to it to make it great. I made it in the slow cooker. There was a little too much pepper for my taste but it wasn't a bad meal over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I made this not only for my family but my inlaws too & everyone absolutely loved it!!! I paired it with brown rice & California medley veggies. I did change out two of the ingredients though. Instead of garlic salt I used garlic powder & instead of regular soy sauce I used Tamari. The roast is gone but there is sauce left that will be used later this week for maybe chicken!!! I highly recommend this recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This pot roast was good, but even with doubling the spices (I did cut down on soy since hubby and I have high blood pressure)there was simply no Chinese flavor to it. Maybe a LOT more ginger, more garlic, some red pepper flakes and green onions added at the end would have helped. It just came out plain pot roast, at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
My whole family enjoyed this recipe, down the the two year old. ! It was by far the best chuck roast I have ever made. We will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yummy! I cut back the soy sauce as recommended by others, and it was delicious. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Everyone loved this recipe. I had all 3 kids asking for seconds and saying I should give this 5 stars for sure. Was a nice surprise that something a bit different and that I was a bit hesitant to try turned out to be such a great success! Thank you for posting this recipe - delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Delicious! I have been using recipes form allrecipes.com for about a month now, and this has been my very favorite so far. The only thing I changed was using just 1/2 cup of worchester sauce. I also added baby carrots and beans to the dish when it had about an hour left in the oven. I served over white rice. My family requested it again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very good! I made exactly as listed in the recipe and it was wonderful! A nice change from the run-of-the-mill pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I don't think I'm a huge fan of pot roast, but bf really liked this. I cut the soy sauce to 1/2 cup and used garlic powder and minced fresh garlic instead of garlic salt. Otherwise, I left it the same. At first I was worried the gravy wouldn't thicken at all, but after about 10-15 minutes, it did. It's a concentrated flavor for gravy, but it does taste relatively good. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This recipe was awesome. I made it for my Asian mother, who can be a tough critic when it comes to other people's cooking; she liked it so much that she actually suggested I make it again a week later when my siblings were coming to visit. I made it three times in one week and didn't even get tired of it. It is sooo delicious. I added a little bit of sriracha to one batch to give it a little heat--it was excellent. My husband ate some of the shredded meat on tortillas with molcajete salsa--I didn't think the flavor combo would work at first, but boy was I wrong. This meat made for excellent burritos. The flavor was so good that when chuck roasts went on sale at the local market, we stocked the freezer so that we would be able to make this roast any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Weaver-Beal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States