Chinese Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
Absolutely DELICIOUS! We loved this! Did it in the crock pot instead of the oven and I almost couldn't take it out because it was so tender and falling apart! A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrypumpkin10

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harrisonburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This recipe was awesome. I made it for my Asian mother, who can be a tough critic when it comes to other people's cooking; she liked it so much that she actually suggested I make it again a week later when my siblings were coming to visit. I made it three times in one week and didn't even get tired of it. It is sooo delicious. I added a little bit of sriracha to one batch to give it a little heat--it was excellent. My husband ate some of the shredded meat on tortillas with molcajete salsa--I didn't think the flavor combo would work at first, but boy was I wrong. This meat made for excellent burritos. The flavor was so good that when chuck roasts went on sale at the local market, we stocked the freezer so that we would be able to make this roast any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
great way to dress up a chuck roast. I added two cloves garlic minced to liquid and omitted garlic salt. I also added some roasted bell pepper. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This is an excellent recipe as written. I have sodium issues so I had to reduce the soy sauce and substituted granulated garlic for the garlic salt but the recipe is still deserving five stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Harvey, daPITA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this recipe as written. The soy sauce flavor in the juice was overwhelming and it was too strong to just pour all over the meat ... it was more of a dipping-type sauce. The next time I'll cut the soy sauce down to 1/2 C and maybe add more honey. I served with white rice and broccoli. Not bad and worth trying again with some changes. UPDATE 3/13: Made again, kept soy sauce the same but added a cup of water. It cooked nicely but for some reason some of the meat was dry... I think that is more the cut of meat's fault rather than the recipe. The juice was delicious, so much so that my daughter asked me to save it so she could "drink it." Yuck. As good as it was I did not comply!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is by far the BEST pot roast recipe I've ever had. This is now my husband's favorite meal. Every time we serve it to guests they rave about it. I sear the outsides in the pan and put it in the crock pot with the sauce ingredients. I use a little red wine to deglaze the pan and get those flavorful bits in the crock pot. Instead of celery seed I use celery stalks and sometimes add onions. I also use fresh minced ginger. To make this WAPF compliant I use coconut oil, traditionally brewed soy sauce, raw honey, and raw vinegar. I also use arrowroot powder instead of cornstarch. I cook it on high for 3-4 hours and on low for 2-3 hours. Every time the meat is so tender it falls apart. I always make enough to have leftovers and store it in the amazing sauce. I am making this today and LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Pleasantly surprised! Very good recipe. I did take the advice of other reviewers and use low sodium soy sauce, garlic powder, and a little less water. After baking, I removed the meat from the pan and tented on a plate. I finely sliced some onion, added to the liquid and reduced it on the stove for about 30 minutes on medium. Then I added the cornstarch mixture, cooked a little more and it was perfect! Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
By using fresh garlic and reducing the amount of soy sauce used, this is very good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Florence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This pot roast was good, but even with doubling the spices (I did cut down on soy since hubby and I have high blood pressure)there was simply no Chinese flavor to it. Maybe a LOT more ginger, more garlic, some red pepper flakes and green onions added at the end would have helped. It just came out plain pot roast, at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This recipe is pretty good and a nice change - different way to make pot roast. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and used low sodium soy sauce. This makes a large amount of gravy and I think the flavor could be a bit more concentrated. To solve both issues, I'll try using less water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MuscleMan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States