Chinese Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This pot roast was good, but even with doubling the spices (I did cut down on soy since hubby and I have high blood pressure)there was simply no Chinese flavor to it. Maybe a LOT more ginger, more garlic, some red pepper flakes and green onions added at the end would have helped. It just came out plain pot roast, at best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
My whole family enjoyed this recipe, down the the two year old. ! It was by far the best chuck roast I have ever made. We will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Yummy! I cut back the soy sauce as recommended by others, and it was delicious. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clayzzle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Everyone loved this recipe. I had all 3 kids asking for seconds and saying I should give this 5 stars for sure. Was a nice surprise that something a bit different and that I was a bit hesitant to try turned out to be such a great success! Thank you for posting this recipe - delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Delicious! I have been using recipes form allrecipes.com for about a month now, and this has been my very favorite so far. The only thing I changed was using just 1/2 cup of worchester sauce. I also added baby carrots and beans to the dish when it had about an hour left in the oven. I served over white rice. My family requested it again next week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very good! I made exactly as listed in the recipe and it was wonderful! A nice change from the run-of-the-mill pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I don't think I'm a huge fan of pot roast, but bf really liked this. I cut the soy sauce to 1/2 cup and used garlic powder and minced fresh garlic instead of garlic salt. Otherwise, I left it the same. At first I was worried the gravy wouldn't thicken at all, but after about 10-15 minutes, it did. It's a concentrated flavor for gravy, but it does taste relatively good. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
This recipe was awesome. I made it for my Asian mother, who can be a tough critic when it comes to other people's cooking; she liked it so much that she actually suggested I make it again a week later when my siblings were coming to visit. I made it three times in one week and didn't even get tired of it. It is sooo delicious. I added a little bit of sriracha to one batch to give it a little heat--it was excellent. My husband ate some of the shredded meat on tortillas with molcajete salsa--I didn't think the flavor combo would work at first, but boy was I wrong. This meat made for excellent burritos. The flavor was so good that when chuck roasts went on sale at the local market, we stocked the freezer so that we would be able to make this roast any time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I made this recipe as written. The soy sauce flavor in the juice was overwhelming and it was too strong to just pour all over the meat ... it was more of a dipping-type sauce. The next time I'll cut the soy sauce down to 1/2 C and maybe add more honey. I served with white rice and broccoli. Not bad and worth trying again with some changes. UPDATE 3/13: Made again, kept soy sauce the same but added a cup of water. It cooked nicely but for some reason some of the meat was dry... I think that is more the cut of meat's fault rather than the recipe. The juice was delicious, so much so that my daughter asked me to save it so she could "drink it." Yuck. As good as it was I did not comply!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
LOVED IT! i used garlic powder instead of galic salt! to me it worked just as well! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States