Chinese Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Really, really good. I would've rated it 4.5 stars but it's not an option! Like others, I did mine in a crock pot overnight which made it extremely tender (great for someone like me who's prone to overcooking meat!). I also used the recommended amount of soy sauce and didn't find it to be too much, though it was reduced-sodium. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I can only give this recipe 3 stars until I get a chance to make it again and alter the seasoning. My husband and I like spicy food. The black pepper was VERY heavy-handed. I checked the recipe 3 times to verify I was putting in a whole tablespoon. The meat was very moist and the gravy is nice. I also had to double the cornstarch and water because the gravy wouldn't thicken until I did. I will make this again and probably cut the black pepper in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I read the reviews and cut the soy to 1/4 cup, used fresh galic and cut the water to 1 cup. I added some sriracha to spice it up and give it a little heat and added a little more honey. It was still, to my taste, too salty. I also added some sour cream to the sauce after the cornstarch and water, this helped with the salty taste. In the future I think I will cut the salt out of the initial browning. My husband thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janesplacemt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Very enjoyable. I used stew meat instead of a roast, cut the bake time to 1 hr @325 and 1 hr @200, tripled the spices, used 1 C reduced sodium soy sauce and ZERO water and still needed to add some flour to thicken gravy. You can add water or broth at that point, depending on how many veggies you need gravy over, but there was way over and above for just the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
We really liked this roast. Had a one and a half pound roast and adjusted the recipe accordingly. Next time I will use a bigger roast so there are more left overs. May cut the water and soy sauce a little next time because it did make a lot of gravy/sauce. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANGOP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Great flavor; the gravy was incredible! I will definitely add this to my recipe binder : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This was soooooooo goood. The entire family loved it. You can bet there won't be any leftovers....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
This was great. I used garlic powder and low sodium soy sauce instead. Paired it with snow pea pods with mint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
my husband and I could not finish it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is by far the BEST pot roast recipe I've ever had. This is now my husband's favorite meal. Every time we serve it to guests they rave about it. I sear the outsides in the pan and put it in the crock pot with the sauce ingredients. I use a little red wine to deglaze the pan and get those flavorful bits in the crock pot. Instead of celery seed I use celery stalks and sometimes add onions. I also use fresh minced ginger. To make this WAPF compliant I use coconut oil, traditionally brewed soy sauce, raw honey, and raw vinegar. I also use arrowroot powder instead of cornstarch. I cook it on high for 3-4 hours and on low for 2-3 hours. Every time the meat is so tender it falls apart. I always make enough to have leftovers and store it in the amazing sauce. I am making this today and LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States