Chinese Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a delicious pot roast and a nice change from a more traditional roast! I made it for Sunday dinner and served it over homemade mashed potatoes. It was a huge hit with the family! I followed the recipe as instructed. Once I made the gravy the saltiness from the soy sauce was a little overwhelming for me. I added another tablespoon of honey and grated an additional teaspoon of fresh ginger into the pan. That really made a difference. We will certainly be having this in our home again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Too salty; use garlic powder instead of garlic salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I cut back the soy sauce & used Kikoman's Lite Soy Sauce to keep the sodium down, All other ingredients as listed. Superb! This is the first time I've made a roast that didn't taste like ho-hum roast! I didn't bother searing it, just whisked ingredients together and poured them over the roast in the crock pot; Cooked on low for 5-6 hours; Then thickened the sauce as instructed. Will be making this again & again =D Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
A lot of ingredients for not much flavor. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and used only 1 tsp black pepper otherwise followed directions exactly. I might try again, using less water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
this was ok for us...not terrible, but just not quite for us. the soy sauce gravy is very strong. i did not stray from the original recipe as this was the first time making, besides using low sodium soy. thanks for the post JDONNELLON :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Very tasty and I will definitely make this again. This was so simple and the meat turned out tender and fell apart. The flavors I thought were most dominant were the black pepper (I used fresh ground) and soy. I browned this is a skillet and then transferred it to a 8x8 baking dish and covered it with aluminum foil. My husband isn't a fan of soy sauce and he really liked this roast. The leftovers reheated very well too. Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this for my mother's birthday dinner last weekend, and it was wonderful. Several reviewers used less soy sauce, but instead, I just added another cup of water. I was also out of celery seed. A few potatoes, celery, carrots, quartered onions and fresh mushrooms were added for the last hour. The meat and vegetables were removed to rest for about 20 minutes while the gravy was made. The roast served with crisp lightly steamed brocoli florets, mashed potatoes, and fresh fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Hackley

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Tried this for the first time for a birthday gathering and EVERYONE loved it. The grandkids even liked it. Hubby told me to put a BIG star by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Really, really good. I would've rated it 4.5 stars but it's not an option! Like others, I did mine in a crock pot overnight which made it extremely tender (great for someone like me who's prone to overcooking meat!). I also used the recommended amount of soy sauce and didn't find it to be too much, though it was reduced-sodium. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I can only give this recipe 3 stars until I get a chance to make it again and alter the seasoning. My husband and I like spicy food. The black pepper was VERY heavy-handed. I checked the recipe 3 times to verify I was putting in a whole tablespoon. The meat was very moist and the gravy is nice. I also had to double the cornstarch and water because the gravy wouldn't thicken until I did. I will make this again and probably cut the black pepper in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Asian-Style Pot Roast

Get tips for sealing in the amazing flavor of this Asian-style roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States