Chinese Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kim Archie
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This pot roast was found when looking for a taste out of the norm...glad we found it. The roast itself was tender and flavorful from the soysauce based liquid. I would shorten the cooking time by about 10 minutes. I used fresh ginger and chopped a celery stalk. I also added to the liquid because my family loves sauces. The sauce reminded me of a thickened teriyaki sauce but not as sweet. We will eat this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Archie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This recipe is delicious! A great twist on pot roast. I also do in the crock pot! My family loves it, rarely are there leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a delicious pot roast and a nice change from a more traditional roast! I made it for Sunday dinner and served it over homemade mashed potatoes. It was a huge hit with the family! I followed the recipe as instructed. Once I made the gravy the saltiness from the soy sauce was a little overwhelming for me. I added another tablespoon of honey and grated an additional teaspoon of fresh ginger into the pan. That really made a difference. We will certainly be having this in our home again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Too salty; use garlic powder instead of garlic salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I cut back the soy sauce & used Kikoman's Lite Soy Sauce to keep the sodium down, All other ingredients as listed. Superb! This is the first time I've made a roast that didn't taste like ho-hum roast! I didn't bother searing it, just whisked ingredients together and poured them over the roast in the crock pot; Cooked on low for 5-6 hours; Then thickened the sauce as instructed. Will be making this again & again =D Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
A lot of ingredients for not much flavor. I used garlic powder instead of garlic salt and used only 1 tsp black pepper otherwise followed directions exactly. I might try again, using less water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
this was ok for us...not terrible, but just not quite for us. the soy sauce gravy is very strong. i did not stray from the original recipe as this was the first time making, besides using low sodium soy. thanks for the post JDONNELLON :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Very tasty and I will definitely make this again. This was so simple and the meat turned out tender and fell apart. The flavors I thought were most dominant were the black pepper (I used fresh ground) and soy. I browned this is a skillet and then transferred it to a 8x8 baking dish and covered it with aluminum foil. My husband isn't a fan of soy sauce and he really liked this roast. The leftovers reheated very well too. Thanks for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this for my mother's birthday dinner last weekend, and it was wonderful. Several reviewers used less soy sauce, but instead, I just added another cup of water. I was also out of celery seed. A few potatoes, celery, carrots, quartered onions and fresh mushrooms were added for the last hour. The meat and vegetables were removed to rest for about 20 minutes while the gravy was made. The roast served with crisp lightly steamed brocoli florets, mashed potatoes, and fresh fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Hackley

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Tried this for the first time for a birthday gathering and EVERYONE loved it. The grandkids even liked it. Hubby told me to put a BIG star by this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Holmen, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States