Chinese Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Absolutely Awesome! We love this. I will usually sear it on the grill for that crispy exterior and smokey flavor and then finish it up in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKIENBUSCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I followed original measurements except added extra ginger and garlic. Marinated 5 hours, baked uncovered for 1 hour at 375. Very tender. I thought the dish would be 'heavier,' but the tastes were very light. Delicious. Had 1/4-1/2 a cup of (used) marinade but it didn't cook-up well for me. There was barely any drippings in the baking dish so next time I'll make extra marinade, set aside, then cook to use as a sauce over the pork and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This smells out of this world. Insane. I started marinading the pork last night in quadruple the sauce. Sesame oil tends to overpower dishes if overused, so I cut it back and I added a bit more Chinese Five Spice. I haven't cooked it yet, but just based on smell/ease of cooking....it's a five star recipe already. And BTW, you don't need to go to an asian store to find these ingredients. You can find them at most grocery stores. I found mine at Fred Meyer/Kroger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Excellent pork recipe! Very tasty! The combination of soya sauce, hoisin sauce, Chinese 5-spice, etc. is excellent and very tasty! May I suggest that you serve this excellent dish with rice (lemon-spiced) and a side-dish of stir-fried veggies (e.g. green and red peppers and red onions in an Asian sauce). An absolute winner! I will definitely make this tasty pork dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I'm giving it 5 stars because it's a great launching point for Chinese cooking and because I like to search for recipes using the rating system, and this one is worth taking a look at. I brought this dish to my company Christmas potluck and I got rave reviews. It was really easy to make in quantity (I made 3 tenderloins, about 4.5 lbs.) I modified this recipe, and for those who don't cook Chinese style very often it might seem like I made a lot of modifications. I like to cook using whatever I have in the pantry and Chinese cooking is really forgiving. First of all I didn't measure any ingredients, I just poured and everything together by estimation. I marinated my pork tenderloins for 24 hrs in the fridge in hoisin sauce, five spice, chinese cooking wine (not sherry), fish sauce (not soy sauce because I like how the flavors blend), I used Shezuan black bean sauce since the recipe didn't specify, and brown sugar ( forgot to add the sesame oil.) The next day I preheated the oven, minced the ginger, moved the tenderloins from the marinade to a baking pan, sprinkled the ginger on top and baked at 350 for 50 minutes. It came out fantastic. Everyone enjoyed it and I got a lot of comments about how tender it was. It was great because it required very little prep. A tasty dish with very little effort. I think if you stuck to the recipe it would be good, but like other reviewers either use less ginger or add it in after it marinades like I did. i baked it for 50 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Too much ginger flavor, it was too overwelming for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
the pork turned out delicious - w/about 6hrs of marinating. very tender,juicy & flavorful, & i really didn't change a thing. the biggest problem w/this is my lack of planning to allow for the marinating, so plan ahead, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Tasted great and super easy to make ! Served w/ a side of bok choy for a complete meal. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
SO good! I only had about 3 hours to marinate and was still very flavorful. Will make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
We enjoy this recipe. The flavor was nice and easy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmajors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Pork Tenderloin Diablo

See how to make quick pork tenderloin in a spicy cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States