Chinese Pork Tenderloin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Absolutely Awesome! We love this. I will usually sear it on the grill for that crispy exterior and smokey flavor and then finish it up in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKIENBUSCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I followed original measurements except added extra ginger and garlic. Marinated 5 hours, baked uncovered for 1 hour at 375. Very tender. I thought the dish would be 'heavier,' but the tastes were very light. Delicious. Had 1/4-1/2 a cup of (used) marinade but it didn't cook-up well for me. There was barely any drippings in the baking dish so next time I'll make extra marinade, set aside, then cook to use as a sauce over the pork and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HIJIMMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This smells out of this world. Insane. I started marinading the pork last night in quadruple the sauce. Sesame oil tends to overpower dishes if overused, so I cut it back and I added a bit more Chinese Five Spice. I haven't cooked it yet, but just based on smell/ease of cooking....it's a five star recipe already. And BTW, you don't need to go to an asian store to find these ingredients. You can find them at most grocery stores. I found mine at Fred Meyer/Kroger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daniel
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Excellent pork recipe! Very tasty! The combination of soya sauce, hoisin sauce, Chinese 5-spice, etc. is excellent and very tasty! May I suggest that you serve this excellent dish with rice (lemon-spiced) and a side-dish of stir-fried veggies (e.g. green and red peppers and red onions in an Asian sauce). An absolute winner! I will definitely make this tasty pork dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I'm giving it 5 stars because it's a great launching point for Chinese cooking and because I like to search for recipes using the rating system, and this one is worth taking a look at. I brought this dish to my company Christmas potluck and I got rave reviews. It was really easy to make in quantity (I made 3 tenderloins, about 4.5 lbs.) I modified this recipe, and for those who don't cook Chinese style very often it might seem like I made a lot of modifications. I like to cook using whatever I have in the pantry and Chinese cooking is really forgiving. First of all I didn't measure any ingredients, I just poured and everything together by estimation. I marinated my pork tenderloins for 24 hrs in the fridge in hoisin sauce, five spice, chinese cooking wine (not sherry), fish sauce (not soy sauce because I like how the flavors blend), I used Shezuan black bean sauce since the recipe didn't specify, and brown sugar ( forgot to add the sesame oil.) The next day I preheated the oven, minced the ginger, moved the tenderloins from the marinade to a baking pan, sprinkled the ginger on top and baked at 350 for 50 minutes. It came out fantastic. Everyone enjoyed it and I got a lot of comments about how tender it was. It was great because it required very little prep. A tasty dish with very little effort. I think if you stuck to the recipe it would be good, but like other reviewers either use less ginger or add it in after it marinades like I did. i baked it for 50 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Too much ginger flavor, it was too overwelming for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
the pork turned out delicious - w/about 6hrs of marinating. very tender,juicy & flavorful, & i really didn't change a thing. the biggest problem w/this is my lack of planning to allow for the marinating, so plan ahead, it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Tasted great and super easy to make ! Served w/ a side of bok choy for a complete meal. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
SO good! I only had about 3 hours to marinate and was still very flavorful. Will make again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
We enjoy this recipe. The flavor was nice and easy to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kmajors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Watch how to prepare a succulent herb-crusted pork tenderloin.

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Pork Tenderloin Diablo

See how to make quick pork tenderloin in a spicy cream sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States