Chinese Pork Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Hubby says these are A++ Better than the best Chinese restaurant dumpling he has ever had. A couple of tips, don't over fill or your dumplings will be hard to fold and will pop open when you cook them. Wet your fingers while folding and pinching shut - if any of them appear to be coming apart just wet your fingers and pinch them shut. These are great to make ahead and freeze. Great for last minute company or a quick and tasty dinner. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. It's a Keeper! Update: Chinese Chives are longer and thicker than regular chives. If you can't find Chinese chives just use regular chives or garlic chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
WOW, these were AWESOME! I used regular fresh chives (couldn't find Chinese chives), and also, could not find dumpling wrappers anywhere, so I used wonton wrappers that I cut into circles...worked like a charm! While these are a bit time consuming, they are super simple and soooo worth it. The sauce is great, but next time I would cut back on the sesame seeds a bit, as I felt there were too many. I will def be making these again...I'm so excited that I made one of my favorite Chinese foods @ home, and they were better than the restaurant~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
SO DELICIOUS! I would recommend however making the filling a little bit more extravagant if you have a few extra minutes. I minced mushrooms, broccoli, and green cabbage, and added that to the pork mixture! Makes for an even more scrumptious filling and doesn't take much extra time! I would also recommend re-frying the potstickers again after you add the water, in order to make each side crispy! The wrapping then becomes brown and crisp and the inside extraordinarily juicy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I cook them in water first during 6-8 minutes and when water has evaporated then a pour some oil and let them brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Really liked the recipe. Made one change, instead of pouring water over the dumplings after frying I had boiling water in another pan on the side and threw the dumplings in, then the pan was ready for the next batch. Had an hot oven to keep the boiled ones warm until all the dumplings were fried and boiled. Thanks, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hildigunnur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
What a good recipe! This is at least as good as my favorite Chinese restaurant's fried pork dumplings. My whole family loved them. I got 34 dumplings (utilizing Wonton wrappers since my store does not carry dumpling wrappers) from this recipe. The only thing I will change next time is to use reduced sodium soy sauce. Kudos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Very good. Tasted a lot like the kind we get at the restaurant. I used regular chives as I could not find the stated version. I had roasted garlic rice vinegar so I used that. Once I got the hang of making the dumplings it went relatively quickly. I found that the water did not completely steam out and so I drained it at the end and pan fried a little to crisp up again. Still a pretty quick process. The dipping sauce is good, but I think I am going to look at tweeking it or maybe find another one to try. I am used to a bit sweeter sauce with some other flavors. The filling was a lot for just the two of us, so I froze it and plan to defrost and make dumplings in the future. Not sure how it will defrost, so hopefully it will work out. Will definitely make again. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Very good recipe, not hard and the pork mixture for the dumplings tastes just like the ones you get from chinese restaurants. Recipe for the meat mixture does make a lot, but I just froze it for the next time I make the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
OH MY GOSH these were so good.If you don't try to make these then you are surely missing out! :D from all of the Stollov family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brier, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Loved these dumplings! Taste is amazing! I made my wonton wrappers homemade because I couldn't find them in our stores. A little work but well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

Pot Stickers (Chinese Dumplings)

See how to make Chinese dumplings filled with ground beef and shrimp.

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States