Chinese Pork Buns (Cha Siu Bao) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
The filling was good but doesn't quite capture the same flavor as restaurant char siu buns. But still a hit among family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KICKCHICK99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
The dough recipe was perfect, albeit very large. The stuffing however was pretty bad. I have made quite a few chinese dishes and this had the worst flavor. It needs to be sweeter and more vibrant. Next time I will use less oyster sauce and add honey and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Washington, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2003
I was really nervous making baos for the first time for my husband who comes from a chinese family, but they all loved them and my husband couldnt get enough of them. He said that they are better than at the chinese store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
I only made the bun portion of this recipe. I tried it twice and both times the dough came out crumbly and dry. The buns turned out so-so, not very moist and kind of dense. I had much better results with the Chinese Steamed Buns recipe which required more steps. I will not be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
The taste was wonderful. In the recipe it says finely chopped pork, but the directions say to cut into 1/2 cubes. I think it would be best if the pork is shredded and a little more than 1 pound for 24, maybe 1 1/2 lb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wrangell, Alaska, USA
Living In: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
These are wonderful. I make them all the time in big batches and freeze the ones that we don't eat for dinner since they freeze really well and can just be microwaved later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I followed the recipe for the dough, but found it needed an extra 1/2 cup of milk to really get it to the right consistency. As for the filling, I've always added diced scallions, shallots, and garlic to my cha siu bau. This is one of the few recipies that accurately calls for baking soda in the dough, though, so I give it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This recipe was very time consuming, but ultimately worth it. It made large, plump buns that my family adored. I did add another 1/4 cup of water to the dough, and I could have used almost twice the meat and sauce filling. I think I'll make the dough sweeter next time. I will absolutely try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I loved these on their own, but I fried them on both sides to give a little extra texture... Also, it seems a little easier if you marinate the pork overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
The dough needs a little tweaking (more water). I kind of eyeball it and add more. I also use a rolling pin to get the balls flatter so they can hold more filling. Overall, this is an excellent recipe and I've made it repeatedly. Also, raw bao freezes well (just steam them a little longer than usual)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scaevola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chinese Pork Dumplings

See how to make authentic Hong Kong-style pork dumplings.

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States